http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 3/25/2017 1:30:54 PM Announcement Sunday is April 2 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announcement-sunday-is-april-2-7745984 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announcement-sunday-is-april-2-7745984 The Bishop and Cabinet have set Sunday, April 2, as the date clergy will announce appointment ... 3/16/2017 For Such a Time as This: United Methodist Women Give, Serve Across Our Conference http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/for-such-a-time-as-this-united-methodist-women-give-serve-7746001 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/for-such-a-time-as-this-united-methodist-women-give-serve-7746001 Tryphenia Speed, president of the United Methodist Women of the North Georgia Conference, shared the... 3/16/2017 Wood Attends GCFA Winter Board Meeting in Cambodia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wood-attends-gcfa-meeting-in-cambodia-7745986 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wood-attends-gcfa-meeting-in-cambodia-7745986 Photo: Rev. Steve Wood with university scholars and almuni, all first-generation Christians, at the ... 3/16/2017 Action Ministries Partners with to Offer Pop Up Pantries Around the State http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-partners-with-to-offer-pop-up-pantries-around-the-state-7685390 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-partners-with-to-offer-pop-up-pantries-around-the-state-7685390 Action Ministries has partnered with the non-profit Amerigroup Community Care to fight hunger and ... 3/9/2017 Show Your Work: Bishop Names 2017 Annual Conference Special Offering http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-names-annual-conference-special-offering-7684049 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-names-annual-conference-special-offering-7684049 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has named the Ministerial Education Fund as the 2017 Annual Conference ... 3/8/2017 Commission on a Way Forward Gathers in Atlanta for Second Meeting http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-gathers-in-atlanta-for-second-meeting-7644000 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-gathers-in-atlanta-for-second-meeting-7644000 The Rev. Jasmine Smothers (center) with the Rev. Jorge Acevedo (left), Alice Williams, the Rev. Tom ... 3/2/2017 God At Work: Resources for Confirmation http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/god-at-work-confirmation-7591633 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/god-at-work-confirmation-7591633 One of the things that I enjoy most about the very first confirmation class every year is the ... 2/28/2017 Stepping Out On Faith: Carrollton Church, Wesley Foundation Look to the Future http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/stepping-out-on-faith-carrollton-church-wesley-foundation-look-to-the-future-7590086 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/stepping-out-on-faith-carrollton-church-wesley-foundation-look-to-the-future-7590086 By Sybil Davidson An exciting, new thing is happening in Carrollton, Georgia. This weekend, the ... 2/28/2017 LaGrange College Opens $21 Million Sciences Project http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-opens-21-million-sciences-project-7585306 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-opens-21-million-sciences-project-7585306  Pouncer watches as Dr. Arthur Sikora, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, prepares a special ‘ribbon ... 2/23/2017 Vital Signs Dashboard to be Simplified http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/vital-signs-dashboard-to-be-simplified-7548009 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/vital-signs-dashboard-to-be-simplified-7548009 Beginning March 3, your church’s Vital Signs dashboard will be simplified to collect three vitally ... 2/21/2017 Aldersgate Homes Welcomes New Board Chair, Director Announces Retirement http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/aldersgate-homes-welcomes-new-board-chair-7546411 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/aldersgate-homes-welcomes-new-board-chair-7546411 The future holds adventures and challenges as Aldersgate Homes and Collinswood continues to serve ... 2/20/2017 Biblically Astute and Socially Conscious: Cliftondale UMC Grows http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biblically-astute-and-socially-conscious-cliftondale-umc-grows-7538103 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biblically-astute-and-socially-conscious-cliftondale-umc-grows-7538103 Second in series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia Conference. In ... 2/16/2017 Central United Methodist Church Atlanta to Celebrate 150th Anniversary http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/central-united-methodist-church-atlanta-to-celebrate-150th-anniversary-7538088 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/central-united-methodist-church-atlanta-to-celebrate-150th-anniversary-7538088 One of Atlanta's historic churches, Central United Methodist Church, is set to celebrate 150 years ... 2/16/2017 Kids 'Can' Make a Difference: LOL Club Serves Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lol-love-out-loud-club-serves-community-7538040 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lol-love-out-loud-club-serves-community-7538040 The LOL Club, a children’s outreach ministry of Elizabeth Lee UMC, canstructed a flag out of 974 ... 2/16/2017 Wesley Woods to Honor 'Heroes, Saints & Legends' Next Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-wood-to-honor-heros-saints-legends-next-month-7538067 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-wood-to-honor-heros-saints-legends-next-month-7538067 Chancellor Hank M. Huckaby, Community Leaders Ann Q. Curry,  Bishop John H. Adams and Dr. Dolly ... 2/16/2017 Wesley Chapel UMC McDonough Celebrates 150th Anniversary http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-chapel-umc-mcdonough-celebrates-150th-anniversary-7496597 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-chapel-umc-mcdonough-celebrates-150th-anniversary-7496597 Wesley Chapel United Methodist Church in McDonough will host several events during the church's ... 2/9/2017 Black History Month Resources and Stories From Across Our Connection http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/black-history-month-resources-and-stories-7418080 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/black-history-month-resources-and-stories-7418080 February is Black History Month and there are a number of stories and resources available from ... 2/2/2017 Red Oak UMC Stockbridge Celebrates Growth http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/red-oak-umc-stockbridge-celebrates-growth-7400031 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/red-oak-umc-stockbridge-celebrates-growth-7400031 This is the first in a series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia ... 2/1/2017 Hundreds Attend Fresh Expressions Event in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hundreds-attend-fresh-expressions-event-in-atlanta-7398649 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hundreds-attend-fresh-expressions-event-in-atlanta-7398649 Rev. Audrey Warren. Photo Cynthia Mack. On January 25, the Center for Mission Innovation (CMI) ... 1/31/2017 Commission on a Way Forward Holds Organizational Meeting in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-holds-organizational-meeting-in-atlanta-7392850 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-holds-organizational-meeting-in-atlanta-7392850 The Commission on a Way Forward held its first meeting January 23-26 in Atlanta with 32 members from... 1/26/2017 Show Your Work: Plans for Annual Conference 2017 Are Well Underway http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-for-annual-conference-2017-are-well-underway-7219061 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-for-annual-conference-2017-are-well-underway-7219061 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the Annual Conference Planning Committee are busy preparing for the ... 1/26/2017 Three Mission Insite Trainings Scheduled for 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/three-mission-insite-trainings-scheduled-for-2017-7392886 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/three-mission-insite-trainings-scheduled-for-2017-7392886 The North Georgia Conference is offering three MissionInsite training opportunities in the next ... 1/26/2017 See Collins Memorial UMC in 'Hidden Figures' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/collins-memorial-umc-connects-with-hollywood-7389316 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/collins-memorial-umc-connects-with-hollywood-7389316 Collins Memorial UMC in Atlanta is known for community outreach and beautiful stained glass windows.... 1/24/2017 Disaster Response: Winter Storms in South Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-winter-storms-in-south-georgia-7385750 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-winter-storms-in-south-georgia-7385750 Zoar UMC in Baxley sustained major damage to their sanctuary during Saturday night's storms. Photo: ... 1/23/2017 Bishop Announces the Appointment of Four New District Superintendents http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announces-new-7382413 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announces-new-7382413 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced four new cabinet-level appointments effective in June.    ... 1/22/2017 HealthFlex Dental and Vision Benefit Details Explained http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-dental-and-vision-benefit-details-explained-3672863 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-dental-and-vision-benefit-details-explained-3672863 The Conference Benefits Office provides the following update to all 2017 HealthFlex Participants who... 1/20/2017 Moeller to Depart Action Ministries Next Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/moeller-to-depart-action-ministries-next-month-7362960 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/moeller-to-depart-action-ministries-next-month-7362960 The Board of Action Ministries has announced that president and CEO Rev. John Moeller will leave the... 1/19/2017 North Georgia Celebrates 2016 Apportionment Giving http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-celebrates-highest-percent-of-apportionment-giving-in-15-years-7362709 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-celebrates-highest-percent-of-apportionment-giving-in-15-years-7362709 Photo: Sean Taylor, layperson and chair of Conference Council on Finance and Administration, ... 1/19/2017 105 Year Old Eagle Scout is Member of Hopewell UMC Tyrone http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/105-year-old-eagle-scout-is-member-of-hopewell-umc-in-tyrone-7322086 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/105-year-old-eagle-scout-is-member-of-hopewell-umc-in-tyrone-7322086 At 105 years old Mr. Lamar Wallace, a member of Hopewell UMC in Tyrone, is thought to be the oldest ... 1/18/2017 United Methodist Childrens Home to Sell Property, Expand and Accelerate its Mission http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/childrens-home-to-sell-property-accererate-mission-7341828 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/childrens-home-to-sell-property-accererate-mission-7341828 On Tuesday, Jan. 17, the board of the United Methodist Children's Home voted to expand its ministry ... 1/18/2017 Common Ground Coffee House Celebrates 1 Year of Coffee and Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/common-ground-coffee-house-celebrates-1-year-of-coffee-and-community-7279390 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/common-ground-coffee-house-celebrates-1-year-of-coffee-and-community-7279390 Members of Connexion UMC at North Covington knew that in order to achieve their dreams of running a ... 1/12/2017 40 New Friends: Clergy Couple Sets Sights on Meeting the Neighbors http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-couple-sets-sights-on-meeting-the-neighbors-7214183 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-couple-sets-sights-on-meeting-the-neighbors-7214183 A passerby made this prayer flag during the Candler Park Festival  By Sybil Davidson  “Hi!” “Nice ... 1/5/2017 Kindling the Fire Lectionary Reading Event Brings Clergy to Glisson http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/kindling-the-fire-lectionary-reading-event-7194174 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/kindling-the-fire-lectionary-reading-event-7194174 A beloved time apart for North Georgia clergy, Kindling the Fire Lectionary Reading Week will ... 1/4/2017 Bishop Announces Three Appointive Cabinet Changes http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-three-appointive-cabinet-changes-7172805 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-three-appointive-cabinet-changes-7172805 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced three changes to the Appointive Cabinet effective June ... 1/3/2017 St. Luke UMC Augusta Damaged by Fire Overnight http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/st-luke-umc-augusta-damaged-by-fire-overnight-7112341 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/st-luke-umc-augusta-damaged-by-fire-overnight-7112341 Members and church pastor Rev. Luther Felder woke to news of a fire at St. Luke UMC in downtown ... 12/28/2016 Praying Our Way Forward: Worship, Study, Discernment, Confession and Prayer for God’s Guidance http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/praying-our-way-forward-conference-wide-week-of-prayer-announced-7092713 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/praying-our-way-forward-conference-wide-week-of-prayer-announced-7092713 North Georgia Conference Week of Prayer to be March 19-25, 2017 The denomination-wide 'Praying Our ... 12/27/2016 Deadline for 2016 Benefits Payments and Apportionment Payments Approaching http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/deadline-for-2016-benefits-payments-and-apportionment-payments-approaching-7009504 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/deadline-for-2016-benefits-payments-and-apportionment-payments-approaching-7009504 The deadline to receive benefits payments to apply toward 2016 balances is December 31, 2016. ... 12/19/2016 Hot Cocoa Outreach Begins Around Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hot-cocoa-outreach-begins-around-atlanta-6986680 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hot-cocoa-outreach-begins-around-atlanta-6986680 The United Methodist Church is taking to the streets of Atlanta and Decatur this week to offer hot ... 12/15/2016 North Georgia Well Represented in First Class of Global Ministries Earthkeepers http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-well-represented-in-historic-first-class-of-global-ministries-earthkeepers-6986688 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-well-represented-in-historic-first-class-of-global-ministries-earthkeepers-6986688 Global Ministries’ Center for Mission Innovation (CMI) held its first-ever United Methodist ... 12/15/2016 Update From the Moderators of the Commission on a Way Forward http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-the-moderators-of-the-commission-on-a-way-forward-6986686 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-the-moderators-of-the-commission-on-a-way-forward-6986686 The following letter was issued to United Methodists from the moderators of The Commission on a Way... 12/15/2016 Bishop Sue Visits Hurricane Matthew Sites, Calls for North Georgia Teams http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-visits-hurricane-matthew-sites-6901125 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-visits-hurricane-matthew-sites-6901125 North Georgia's bishop recently traveled to disaster response sites in South Carolina and North ... 12/8/2016 New Scholarship to Address Economic Challenges Facing Pastoral Leaders http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-scholarship-to-address-economic-challenges-6880987 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-scholarship-to-address-economic-challenges-6880987 North Georgia Conference, Seminaries, to Match Generous Scholarship  The Office of Loans and ... 12/7/2016 United Methodists to Offer Hot Cocoa and Hospitality in Busy Shopping Areas Dec. 15-18 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodists-to-offer-hot-cocoa-6881080 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodists-to-offer-hot-cocoa-6881080 United Methodists will offer a warm smile and hot cocoa on the streets of Atlanta and Decatur Dec. ... 12/7/2016 UMCOR Needs Bedding Kits, Health Kits in Response to Fires http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-needs-bedding-kits-health-kits-in-response-to-fires-6860748 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-needs-bedding-kits-health-kits-in-response-to-fires-6860748 The United Methodist Committee on Relief has put out a call for health kits and bedding kits, ... 12/6/2016 Action Ministries Sunday is December 4 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-sunday-is-december-4-6796583 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-sunday-is-december-4-6796583 Action Ministries is excited about this special annual opportunity to tell its story and engage the ... 11/30/2016 Churches Must Still Comply With Overtime Rules http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/churches-must-still-comply-with-overtime-rules-6774944 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/churches-must-still-comply-with-overtime-rules-6774944 Republished with permission from the Missouri Annual Conference. Early last week, a Federal ... 11/29/2016 Hands Needed: Recovery is Underway Along Coast http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hands-needed-recover-is-underway-along-coast-6775032 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hands-needed-recover-is-underway-along-coast-6775032 When Hurricane Matthew battered the coast, we followed protocol and waited for emergency responders ... 11/29/2016 Suwanee Worship Center Sends of 30K Boxes of Food to Haiti http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/suwanee-worship-center-sends-of-30k-boxes-of-food-to-haiti-6775028 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/suwanee-worship-center-sends-of-30k-boxes-of-food-to-haiti-6775028 The Gwinnett Daily Post recently shared a story about Suwanee Worship Center's Stop Hunger Now ... 11/29/2016 From GCFA: Update on Overtime Rules and Your Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6750872 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6750872 The General Council on Finance and Administration of the UMC shared the following information on the... 11/23/2016 Overtime Rules and Your Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-learn-about-new-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6345586 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-learn-about-new-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6345586 It is important for churches to make a determination as to whether the Department of Labor Overtime... 11/22/2016
Page 1 of 46 1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 next