http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 8/17/2017 9:43:43 AM Message From Bishop: We Need to Speak With One Voice, Condemn Racism http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-regarding-9023955 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-regarding-9023955 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson shared the following message on Saturday,  August 12: We in North Georgia... 8/12/2017 Join Bishop Sue and the North Georgia Conference on a Holy Land Journey http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-conference-2018-holy-land-journey-9021918 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-conference-2018-holy-land-journey-9021918 Join the North Georgia Conference and Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson for an 11-day Holy Land Journey in ... 8/11/2017 Farewells and Welcomes at the United Methodist Center http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/farewells-and-welcomes-at-the-united-methodist-center-8986310 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/farewells-and-welcomes-at-the-united-methodist-center-8986310 Each Clergy Move Day brings changes to the North Georgia Conference offices as pastors move to new ... 8/10/2017 Journey to Higher Learning: Georgia PAUMCS Event to be Held in LaGrange http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-paumcs-event-9004199 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-paumcs-event-9004199 Earlier this year the Professional Association of United Methodist Church Secretaries (PAUMCS) voted... 8/10/2017 Urgent Need for Construction Teams in Lumberton, NC http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/teams-needed-in-lumberton-nc-9004227 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/teams-needed-in-lumberton-nc-9004227 There is an urgent need for construction teams in the Lumberton, NC region, which is still ... 8/10/2017 Two North Georgia United Methodists Commissioned as Earthkeepers http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/two-more-earthkeepers-in-north-georgia-8986320 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/two-more-earthkeepers-in-north-georgia-8986320 Michael Black and Nathan Brasfield (center) with EarthKeeper facilitators Susan Mullin, John Hill, ... 8/9/2017 Johns Creek UMC Welcomes Religious Leaders to Discuss Faith Traditions, Beliefs http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/johns-creek-umc-meets-their-neighbors-8984853 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/johns-creek-umc-meets-their-neighbors-8984853 Hindu neighbors visit Johns Creek UMC for "Join Together July" to share about their traditions and ... 8/8/2017 A New Era: Children's Home Signs Lease for Residences, Office Space http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-era-childrens-home-signs-lease-for-residences-office-space-8983734 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-era-childrens-home-signs-lease-for-residences-office-space-8983734 The United Methodist Children's Home announced tonight that they have secured housing for ... 8/7/2017 Clergy Parents and Children Invited to Day Apart at Glisson http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-parents-and-children-invited-to-day-apart-at-glisson-8983422 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-parents-and-children-invited-to-day-apart-at-glisson-8983422 Bishop Sue invites clergy parents and their children - from newborns to 18 year olds - to set aside ... 8/7/2017 North Georgia UMs Among Young Clergy Initiative Grants Recipients http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-clergy-initative-grants-awarded-8710467 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-clergy-initative-grants-awarded-8710467 The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry (GBHEM) as part of their strategy to enable and ... 8/3/2017 Atlanta-Decatur-Oxford District Move Brings Many Blessings http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/adox-district-new-office-is-blessing-8887998 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/adox-district-new-office-is-blessing-8887998 By Sybil Davidson Take a Tour: View photos by Pam Sheldon The Atlanta-Decatur-Oxford District of ... 7/28/2017 Commission on a Way Forward Offers Status Report http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-offers-status-report-8870161 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-offers-status-report-8870161 The Commission on a Way Forward has released a status report to the Council of Bishops and the ... 7/27/2017 Everything: Rooted Retreats Bring Youth Groups Closer to God http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/everything-rooted-retreats-8870095 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/everything-rooted-retreats-8870095 Every thought. Every dream. Every fear. Every second. What's at the end of your 'every?'  God is ... 7/27/2017 In Mission and Ministry: Updates for Your Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/in-mission-updates-for-your-church-8852244 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/in-mission-updates-for-your-church-8852244 Are you looking ahead at your local church year? Here are some helpful things to consider! Plan a ... 7/26/2017 Volunteers Needed at UMCOR Office in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/volunteers-needed-at-umcor-office-in-atlanta-8813168 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/volunteers-needed-at-umcor-office-in-atlanta-8813168 Here’s an opportunity for office volunteers that could be fun for individuals or “friend groups” of... 7/21/2017 Districts to Hold Installation Services for New Superintendents http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/districts-to-hold-installation-services-for-new-superintendents-8795237 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/districts-to-hold-installation-services-for-new-superintendents-8795237 Four North Georgia Conference districts will hold installation services for their new District ... 7/20/2017 5 Ways to Evaluate the Success of Your VBS http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/5-ways-to-evaluate-the-success-of-your-vbs-8793828 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/5-ways-to-evaluate-the-success-of-your-vbs-8793828 The stage is set at Tucker First UMC for their test of next year's Cokesbury VBS curriculum. (Photo ... 7/19/2017 New Address, New Director at Aldersgate - Collinswood http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-address-new-director-at-aldersgate-collinswood-8775891 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-address-new-director-at-aldersgate-collinswood-8775891 On June 24, the Aldersgate Homes - Collinswood Board of Directors held a consecration service of ... 7/18/2017 How to Practice Mission in Dynamic, Transformational Ways http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/how-to-practice-mission-in-dynamic-transformational-ways-8736341 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/how-to-practice-mission-in-dynamic-transformational-ways-8736341 Rev. Scott Parrish, Missions Specialist for The North Georgia Conference, offers 4 points to keep in... 7/13/2017 Local UMCOR Volunteer Opportunity http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/local-umcor-volunteer-opportunity-8715594 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/local-umcor-volunteer-opportunity-8715594 UMCOR is seeking willing volunteers to help make badges for dedicated early response team members ... 7/10/2017 Renfro Trust Grant Reinstated for 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/renfro-trust-grant-reinstated-for-2017-8710503 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/renfro-trust-grant-reinstated-for-2017-8710503 After temporarily being unavailable last year, the Renfro Trust Grant has been reinstated for 2017. ... 7/7/2017 UMC Day of Health to Showcase Projects and Programs http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-day-of-health-to-showcase-projects-and-programs-8692266 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-day-of-health-to-showcase-projects-and-programs-8692266 Global Ministries, in partnership with the North Georgia Conference, is hosting a UMC Day of Health ... 7/6/2017 Flat Shoals UMC Celebrates First GED Ceremony http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/flat-shoals-umc-8670098 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/flat-shoals-umc-8670098 Flat Shoals UMC in the Atlanta-Decatur-Oxford District celebrated a historic moment this spring with... 7/2/2017 Save the Date for Children's Home Flea Market http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-for-childrens-home-flea-market-8649272 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-for-childrens-home-flea-market-8649272 Your United Methodist Children’s Home is hosting its annual 2017 summer flea market on Friday, July... 6/29/2017 UMC School of Congregational Development to be Held in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/school-of-congregational-development-to-be-held-in-atlanta-8649591 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/school-of-congregational-development-to-be-held-in-atlanta-8649591 You're invited to "Join Us at The Lord's Table," and this year the table is close to home! The UMC... 6/29/2017 Excellent Worship Resources: Did You Leave Annual Conference Inspired? http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/excellent-worship-resources-did-you-leave-annual-conference-inspired-8631220 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/excellent-worship-resources-did-you-leave-annual-conference-inspired-8631220 Did you leave Annual Conference 2017 inspired to learn more about excellent worship practices and ... 6/28/2017 Show Your Work: 2017 Annual Conference Report http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/show-your-work-2017-annual-conference-report-8631139 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/show-your-work-2017-annual-conference-report-8631139 North Georgia Annual Conference The Classic Center, Athens, Ga. June 13-15, 2017 Bishop Sue ... 6/28/2017 Alpharetta UMC Collecting 5 Tons of Cookies for Operation Oreo http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/alpharetta-umc-collecting-5-tons-of-cookies-for-operation-ore-8595095 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/alpharetta-umc-collecting-5-tons-of-cookies-for-operation-ore-8595095 Alpharetta First United Methodist Church is collecting five tons of Oreo cookies to send to U.S. ... 6/26/2017 Bridges Update: Mission Partners Around the World http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bridges-update-mission-partners-around-the-world-8573708 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bridges-update-mission-partners-around-the-world-8573708 The North Georgia Conference Bridges partnerships are based on a 50/50 relationship between our ... 6/22/2017 Celebrating Excellence at Annual Conference 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/celebrating-excellence-8573688 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/celebrating-excellence-8573688 Throughout the 2017 Annual Conference session, members saw the reach of the United Methodist ... 6/22/2017 New UMC Handbook Now Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-umc-handbook-now-available-8573729 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-umc-handbook-now-available-8573729 The new United Methodist Church Handbook for this quadrennium is available, providing a detailed ... 6/22/2017 Sign Up For A Free Personal Pension/Benefits Consultation at Pastor's School http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sign-up-for-personal-pension-benefits-consultation-8573823 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sign-up-for-personal-pension-benefits-consultation-8573823 Do you wonder if you're putting enough in your pension? Or too much? Or how you would know the ... 6/22/2017 Oh, How We Worship: Annual Conference 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/oh-how-we-worship-annual-conference-2017-8537877 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/oh-how-we-worship-annual-conference-2017-8537877 More than a theme, "Show Your Work: Worship That Inspires Action," was put into practice at the 2017... 6/20/2017 Day Three Annual Conference Update: Depart to Serve http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-3-annual-conference-update-depart-to-serve-8528279 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-3-annual-conference-update-depart-to-serve-8528279 Sessions Five and Six: Depart to Serve Survey Please share your feedback on Annual Conference 2017 ... 6/16/2017 Day Two Annual Conference Update: Church Has Broken Out http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-two-annual-conference-update-church-has-broken-out-8506648 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-two-annual-conference-update-church-has-broken-out-8506648 Photos Talented photographers are capturing Annual Conference. See photos from each day. ... 6/15/2017 Day One Annual Conference Update: Go to the Font http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-update-for-tuesday-june-13-8488813 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-update-for-tuesday-june-13-8488813 The Hicks family surrounds baby Rowan Atticus Hicks as he is baptized by his grandmother Rev. Nanci ... 6/14/2017 Welcome to Athens: Annual Conference Update for Monday June 12 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcome-to-athens-annual-conference-update-for-monday-june-12-8470902 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcome-to-athens-annual-conference-update-for-monday-june-12-8470902 Young Adults kick off Conference with their annual gathering! Photo by Rev. Dr. Joseph McBrayer. ... 6/12/2017 Trustees Answer Questions About Property Management Proposal http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/trustees-answer-questions-about-property-management-proposal-8409869 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/trustees-answer-questions-about-property-management-proposal-8409869 Annual Conference members who attended their District Pre-Conference Briefing learned about the ... 6/5/2017 Bishop Announces Two New Members of Her Extended Cabinet http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-two-new-members-of-her-extended-cabinet-8390229 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-two-new-members-of-her-extended-cabinet-8390229 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson announced the assignment of two additional members of the North Georgia ... 6/2/2017 History Portrayed in Glass: Wesley Memorial Windows Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/windows-8152226 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/windows-8152226 The Wesley Memorial Windows are pictured at Simpsonwood Retreat Center. They are currently being ... 5/31/2017 Annual Conference Worship Visuals Set to Inspire Action http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-worship-visuals-hope-to-inspire-action-8384818 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-worship-visuals-hope-to-inspire-action-8384818 By Ansley Brackin Communications Clergy and laity may find themselves singing “Come Thou Fount of ... 5/30/2017 Join Us in Prayer for Atlanta First http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/join-us-in-prayer-8364154 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/join-us-in-prayer-8364154 Join us in prayer for Rev. Jasmine Smothers, District Superintendent Dr. Bernice Kirkland, and the ... 5/26/2017 Peace with Justice Sunday Scheduled for June http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/peace-with-justice-sunday-scheduled-for-june-8346446 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/peace-with-justice-sunday-scheduled-for-june-8346446 “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He ... 5/26/2017 Action Ministries to Launch Sixth Year of Smart Lunch, Smart Kid http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-to-launch-sixth-year-of-smart-lunch-smart-kid-8346421 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-to-launch-sixth-year-of-smart-lunch-smart-kid-8346421 Volunteer Opportunities Now Available    Next week Action Ministries will officially launch the ... 5/25/2017 Henderson Named President of Action Ministries http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/henderson-named-president-of-action-ministries-8346605 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/henderson-named-president-of-action-ministries-8346605 The Board of Directors of Action Ministries has named S. Kelley Henderson as the new President and ... 5/25/2017 Young Harris College Board of Trustees Appoints Interim President http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-board-of-trustees-appoints-interim-president-8310120 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-board-of-trustees-appoints-interim-president-8310120 YOUNG HARRIS, GA - Young Harris College Board of Trustees Chair Brantley Barrow announced that Dr. ... 5/24/2017 Powder Springs UMC Welcomes The Potters House Congregation into Membership http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/powers-ferry-umc-welcomes-41-members-8310803 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/powers-ferry-umc-welcomes-41-members-8310803 May 21 was a special day in the life of Powder Springs First UMC. The members of The Potter's House,... 5/23/2017 A New Tradition: All Clergy to Participate in 2017 Ordination Service http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-tradition-all-clergy-to-participate-in-2017-ordination-service-8077294 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-tradition-all-clergy-to-participate-in-2017-ordination-service-8077294 UPDATE: Registration for the clergy processional is now closed. A new tradition will begin at Annual... 5/19/2017 Chubb Chapel UMC: Small Church Looms Large in Black History http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/chubb-chapel-umc-small-church-looms-large-in-black-history-8284625 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/chubb-chapel-umc-small-church-looms-large-in-black-history-8284625 By Sam Hodges May 16, 2017 | CAVE SPRING, Ga. (UMNS) Video: Watch and listen at https://youtu.be/Dd... 5/17/2017 Emory University's Dr. Deb McFarland to be Laity Dinner Speaker http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/laity-dinner-speaker-named-8283359 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/laity-dinner-speaker-named-8283359 Dr. Deb McFarland of the Rollins School of Public Health of Emory University, and a member of Glenn ... 5/16/2017
Page 1 of 48 1 2 3 4 5 ... 48 next