http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 4/30/2017 10:46:19 AM A Message from Bishop Sue on Judicial Council Ruling http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-on-judicial-council-ruling-8129160 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-on-judicial-council-ruling-8129160 Dear brothers and sisters in Christ,   The Judicial Council of The United Methodist Church has just... 4/28/2017 LaGrange College Students Take Service-Learning Trip to D.C. http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-students-take-service-learning-trip-to-dc-8094930 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-students-take-service-learning-trip-to-dc-8094930 More than 20 LaGrange College students and four adults traveled to Washington, D.C., over spring ... 4/27/2017 A New Tradition: All Clergy to Participate in 2017 Ordination Service http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-tradition-all-clergy-to-participate-in-2017-ordination-service-8077294 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-tradition-all-clergy-to-participate-in-2017-ordination-service-8077294 Registration Now Open for Clergy Processional Bishop Sue, the Cabinet and the Board of Ordained ... 4/26/2017 Bishops Call Special Session of General Conference for 2019 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishops-call-special-session-of-general-conference-for-2019-8058519 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishops-call-special-session-of-general-conference-for-2019-8058519 The United Methodist Council of Bishops has called a Special Session of the General Conference of ... 4/25/2017 A Message from Bishop Sue on Upcoming Judicial Council Hearing http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/judicial-council-hearing-8057472 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/judicial-council-hearing-8057472 I invite you to join me in prayer for our United Methodist Church, our Council of Bishops, our ... 4/24/2017 New Paperless Financial Support Report for Clergy http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-paperless-financial-support-report-for-clergy-8057231 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-paperless-financial-support-report-for-clergy-8057231 Beginning in May there is a new paperless compensation report process for North Georgia Conference ... 4/24/2017 North Georgia Clergy & Laity Impacted by ZOE Ministry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/zoe-8054003 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/zoe-8054003 When 14 clergy and laity boarded their flight to Kenya in January 2017, they knew they would not be ... 4/21/2017 Bishop to Nominate Next Conference Chancellor http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-to-nominate-next-conference-chancellor-8034785 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-to-nominate-next-conference-chancellor-8034785 In June, Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson will nominate Jim Thornton as our next North Georgia Conference... 4/19/2017 City of Decatur to Purchase United Methodist Children's Home Property http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-accepts-offer-for-sale-of-property-8015999 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-accepts-offer-for-sale-of-property-8015999 The United Methodist Children’s Home Agrees to Sell Campus to City of Decatur; Funds from $40 ... 4/17/2017 Holy Thursday Prayer from Bishop Sue http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-thursday-prayer-from-bishop-sue-7994253 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-thursday-prayer-from-bishop-sue-7994253 On this Holy Thursday, Bishop Sue invites you to pray with her the words of this wonderful Brian ... 4/13/2017 Bishop Announces Projected June Appointments http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-projected-june-appointments-7881261 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-projected-june-appointments-7881261 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced projected full-time appointments for North Georgia ... 4/2/2017 Angle-Young Joins Staff of United Methodist Communications in Nashville http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/angle-young-joins-staff-of-united-methodist-communications-in-nashville-7845170 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/angle-young-joins-staff-of-united-methodist-communications-in-nashville-7845170 The Rev. Dr. Teresa Angle-Young, an elder in the North Georgia Conference, has joined the staff of ... 3/30/2017 I-85 Bridge Collapses Just Miles from United Methodist Center http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/i-85-bridge-collapse-7862514 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/i-85-bridge-collapse-7862514 On Thursday evening, March 30, an I-85 overpass in Atlanta collapsed after a massive fire began ... 3/30/2017 Young Harris College President Cathy Cox to Step Down in June http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-president-cathy-cox-to-step-down-in-june-7845161 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-president-cathy-cox-to-step-down-in-june-7845161 Young Harris College President Cathy Cox has announced that she will formally step down from the ... 3/30/2017 Due West UMC Welcomes Young Families http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/due-west-umc-welcomes-young-families-7827486 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/due-west-umc-welcomes-young-families-7827486 This is third in a series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia Conference.... 3/29/2017 Tips for Moving Pastors http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tips-for-moving-pastors-7825895 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tips-for-moving-pastors-7825895 Susan Miller knows how it feels to live a gypsy’s life. The wife of a corporate hotel executive, ... 3/28/2017 Welcoming A New Pastor http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-a-new-pastor-7825897 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-a-new-pastor-7825897 United Methodist Communications shares ideas to help churches put out the welcome mat in meaningful ... 3/28/2017 Faith and Scouting: Scout Leader Training to be Held in April http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/scout-leader-training-to-be-held-in-april-7814237 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/scout-leader-training-to-be-held-in-april-7814237 The North Georgia Conference will host a scout leader training event on April 22 designed help build... 3/27/2017 North Georgia Communicators Honored at UMAC Awards Gala http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/communications-staff-honored-7808447 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/communications-staff-honored-7808447 This photo of Bishop Sharma Lewis taken by Ansley Brackin was awarded first place in photography at ... 3/27/2017 Announcement Sunday is April 2 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announcement-sunday-is-april-2-7745984 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announcement-sunday-is-april-2-7745984 The Bishop and Cabinet have set Sunday, April 2, as the date clergy will announce appointment ... 3/16/2017 For Such a Time as This: United Methodist Women Give, Serve Across Our Conference http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/for-such-a-time-as-this-united-methodist-women-give-serve-7746001 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/for-such-a-time-as-this-united-methodist-women-give-serve-7746001 Tryphenia Speed, president of the United Methodist Women of the North Georgia Conference, shared the... 3/16/2017 Wood Attends GCFA Winter Board Meeting in Cambodia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wood-attends-gcfa-meeting-in-cambodia-7745986 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wood-attends-gcfa-meeting-in-cambodia-7745986 Photo: Rev. Steve Wood with university scholars and almuni, all first-generation Christians, at the ... 3/16/2017 Action Ministries Partners with to Offer Pop Up Pantries Around the State http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-partners-with-to-offer-pop-up-pantries-around-the-state-7685390 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-partners-with-to-offer-pop-up-pantries-around-the-state-7685390 Action Ministries has partnered with the non-profit Amerigroup Community Care to fight hunger and ... 3/9/2017 Show Your Work: Bishop Names 2017 Annual Conference Special Offering http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-names-annual-conference-special-offering-7684049 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-names-annual-conference-special-offering-7684049 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has named the Ministerial Education Fund as the 2017 Annual Conference ... 3/8/2017 Commission on a Way Forward Gathers in Atlanta for Second Meeting http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-gathers-in-atlanta-for-second-meeting-7644000 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-gathers-in-atlanta-for-second-meeting-7644000 The Rev. Jasmine Smothers (center) with the Rev. Jorge Acevedo (left), Alice Williams, the Rev. Tom ... 3/2/2017 God At Work: Resources for Confirmation http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/god-at-work-confirmation-7591633 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/god-at-work-confirmation-7591633 One of the things that I enjoy most about the very first confirmation class every year is the ... 2/28/2017 Stepping Out On Faith: Carrollton Church, Wesley Foundation Look to the Future http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/stepping-out-on-faith-carrollton-church-wesley-foundation-look-to-the-future-7590086 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/stepping-out-on-faith-carrollton-church-wesley-foundation-look-to-the-future-7590086 By Sybil Davidson An exciting, new thing is happening in Carrollton, Georgia. This weekend, the ... 2/28/2017 LaGrange College Opens $21 Million Sciences Project http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-opens-21-million-sciences-project-7585306 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-opens-21-million-sciences-project-7585306  Pouncer watches as Dr. Arthur Sikora, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, prepares a special ‘ribbon ... 2/23/2017 Vital Signs Dashboard to be Simplified http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/vital-signs-dashboard-to-be-simplified-7548009 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/vital-signs-dashboard-to-be-simplified-7548009 Beginning March 3, your church’s Vital Signs dashboard will be simplified to collect three vitally ... 2/21/2017 Aldersgate Homes Welcomes New Board Chair, Director Announces Retirement http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/aldersgate-homes-welcomes-new-board-chair-7546411 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/aldersgate-homes-welcomes-new-board-chair-7546411 The future holds adventures and challenges as Aldersgate Homes and Collinswood continues to serve ... 2/20/2017 Biblically Astute and Socially Conscious: Cliftondale UMC Grows http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biblically-astute-and-socially-conscious-cliftondale-umc-grows-7538103 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biblically-astute-and-socially-conscious-cliftondale-umc-grows-7538103 Second in series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia Conference. In ... 2/16/2017 Central United Methodist Church Atlanta to Celebrate 150th Anniversary http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/central-united-methodist-church-atlanta-to-celebrate-150th-anniversary-7538088 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/central-united-methodist-church-atlanta-to-celebrate-150th-anniversary-7538088 One of Atlanta's historic churches, Central United Methodist Church, is set to celebrate 150 years ... 2/16/2017 Kids 'Can' Make a Difference: LOL Club Serves Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lol-love-out-loud-club-serves-community-7538040 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lol-love-out-loud-club-serves-community-7538040 The LOL Club, a children’s outreach ministry of Elizabeth Lee UMC, canstructed a flag out of 974 ... 2/16/2017 Wesley Woods to Honor 'Heroes, Saints & Legends' Next Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-wood-to-honor-heros-saints-legends-next-month-7538067 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-wood-to-honor-heros-saints-legends-next-month-7538067 Chancellor Hank M. Huckaby, Community Leaders Ann Q. Curry,  Bishop John H. Adams and Dr. Dolly ... 2/16/2017 Wesley Chapel UMC McDonough Celebrates 150th Anniversary http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-chapel-umc-mcdonough-celebrates-150th-anniversary-7496597 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-chapel-umc-mcdonough-celebrates-150th-anniversary-7496597 Wesley Chapel United Methodist Church in McDonough will host several events during the church's ... 2/9/2017 Black History Month Resources and Stories From Across Our Connection http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/black-history-month-resources-and-stories-7418080 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/black-history-month-resources-and-stories-7418080 February is Black History Month and there are a number of stories and resources available from ... 2/2/2017 Red Oak UMC Stockbridge Celebrates Growth http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/red-oak-umc-stockbridge-celebrates-growth-7400031 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/red-oak-umc-stockbridge-celebrates-growth-7400031 This is the first in a series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia ... 2/1/2017 Hundreds Attend Fresh Expressions Event in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hundreds-attend-fresh-expressions-event-in-atlanta-7398649 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hundreds-attend-fresh-expressions-event-in-atlanta-7398649 Rev. Audrey Warren. Photo Cynthia Mack. On January 25, the Center for Mission Innovation (CMI) ... 1/31/2017 Commission on a Way Forward Holds Organizational Meeting in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-holds-organizational-meeting-in-atlanta-7392850 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-holds-organizational-meeting-in-atlanta-7392850 The Commission on a Way Forward held its first meeting January 23-26 in Atlanta with 32 members from... 1/26/2017 Show Your Work: Plans for Annual Conference 2017 Are Well Underway http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-for-annual-conference-2017-are-well-underway-7219061 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-for-annual-conference-2017-are-well-underway-7219061 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the Annual Conference Planning Committee are busy preparing for the ... 1/26/2017 Three Mission Insite Trainings Scheduled for 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/three-mission-insite-trainings-scheduled-for-2017-7392886 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/three-mission-insite-trainings-scheduled-for-2017-7392886 The North Georgia Conference is offering three MissionInsite training opportunities in the next ... 1/26/2017 See Collins Memorial UMC in 'Hidden Figures' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/collins-memorial-umc-connects-with-hollywood-7389316 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/collins-memorial-umc-connects-with-hollywood-7389316 Collins Memorial UMC in Atlanta is known for community outreach and beautiful stained glass windows.... 1/24/2017 Disaster Response: Winter Storms in South Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-winter-storms-in-south-georgia-7385750 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-winter-storms-in-south-georgia-7385750 Zoar UMC in Baxley sustained major damage to their sanctuary during Saturday night's storms. Photo: ... 1/23/2017 Bishop Announces the Appointment of Four New District Superintendents http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announces-new-7382413 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announces-new-7382413 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced four new cabinet-level appointments effective in June.    ... 1/22/2017 HealthFlex Dental and Vision Benefit Details Explained http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-dental-and-vision-benefit-details-explained-3672863 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-dental-and-vision-benefit-details-explained-3672863 The Conference Benefits Office provides the following update to all 2017 HealthFlex Participants who... 1/20/2017 Moeller to Depart Action Ministries Next Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/moeller-to-depart-action-ministries-next-month-7362960 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/moeller-to-depart-action-ministries-next-month-7362960 The Board of Action Ministries has announced that president and CEO Rev. John Moeller will leave the... 1/19/2017 North Georgia Celebrates 2016 Apportionment Giving http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-celebrates-highest-percent-of-apportionment-giving-in-15-years-7362709 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-celebrates-highest-percent-of-apportionment-giving-in-15-years-7362709 Photo: Sean Taylor, layperson and chair of Conference Council on Finance and Administration, ... 1/19/2017 105 Year Old Eagle Scout is Member of Hopewell UMC Tyrone http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/105-year-old-eagle-scout-is-member-of-hopewell-umc-in-tyrone-7322086 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/105-year-old-eagle-scout-is-member-of-hopewell-umc-in-tyrone-7322086 At 105 years old Mr. Lamar Wallace, a member of Hopewell UMC in Tyrone, is thought to be the oldest ... 1/18/2017 United Methodist Childrens Home to Sell Property, Expand and Accelerate its Mission http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/childrens-home-to-sell-property-accererate-mission-7341828 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/childrens-home-to-sell-property-accererate-mission-7341828 On Tuesday, Jan. 17, the board of the United Methodist Children's Home voted to expand its ministry ... 1/18/2017 Common Ground Coffee House Celebrates 1 Year of Coffee and Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/common-ground-coffee-house-celebrates-1-year-of-coffee-and-community-7279390 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/common-ground-coffee-house-celebrates-1-year-of-coffee-and-community-7279390 Members of Connexion UMC at North Covington knew that in order to achieve their dreams of running a ... 1/12/2017
Page 1 of 46 1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 next