http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 2/23/2017 12:47:30 AM Aldersgate Homes Welcomes New Board Chair, Director Announces Retirement http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/aldersgate-homes-welcomes-new-board-chair-7546411 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/aldersgate-homes-welcomes-new-board-chair-7546411 The future holds adventures and challenges as Aldersgate Homes and Collinswood continues to serve ... 2/20/2017 Biblically Astute and Socially Conscious: Cliftondale UMC Grows http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biblically-astute-and-socially-conscious-cliftondale-umc-grows-7538103 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biblically-astute-and-socially-conscious-cliftondale-umc-grows-7538103 Second in series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia Conference. In ... 2/16/2017 Central United Methodist Church Atlanta to Celebrate 150th Anniversary http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/central-united-methodist-church-atlanta-to-celebrate-150th-anniversary-7538088 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/central-united-methodist-church-atlanta-to-celebrate-150th-anniversary-7538088 One of Atlanta's historic churches, Central United Methodist Church, is set to celebrate 150 years ... 2/16/2017 Kids 'Can' Make a Difference: LOL Club Serves Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lol-love-out-loud-club-serves-community-7538040 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lol-love-out-loud-club-serves-community-7538040 The LOL Club, a children’s outreach ministry of Elizabeth Lee UMC, canstructed a flag out of 974 ... 2/16/2017 Wesley Woods to Honor 'Heroes, Saints & Legends' Next Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-wood-to-honor-heros-saints-legends-next-month-7538067 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-wood-to-honor-heros-saints-legends-next-month-7538067 Chancellor Hank M. Huckaby, Community Leaders Ann Q. Curry,  Bishop John H. Adams and Dr. Dolly ... 2/16/2017 Wesley Chapel UMC McDonough Celebrates 150th Anniversary http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-chapel-umc-mcdonough-celebrates-150th-anniversary-7496597 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-chapel-umc-mcdonough-celebrates-150th-anniversary-7496597 Wesley Chapel United Methodist Church in McDonough will host several events during the church's ... 2/9/2017 Black History Month Resources and Stories From Across Our Connection http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/black-history-month-resources-and-stories-7418080 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/black-history-month-resources-and-stories-7418080 February is Black History Month and there are a number of stories and resources available from ... 2/2/2017 Red Oak UMC Stockbridge Celebrates Growth http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/red-oak-umc-stockbridge-celebrates-growth-7400031 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/red-oak-umc-stockbridge-celebrates-growth-7400031 This is the first in a series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia ... 2/1/2017 Hundreds Attend Fresh Expressions Event in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hundreds-attend-fresh-expressions-event-in-atlanta-7398649 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hundreds-attend-fresh-expressions-event-in-atlanta-7398649 Rev. Audrey Warren. Photo Cynthia Mack. On January 25, the Center for Mission Innovation (CMI) ... 1/31/2017 Commission on a Way Forward Holds Organizational Meeting in Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-holds-organizational-meeting-in-atlanta-7392850 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-holds-organizational-meeting-in-atlanta-7392850 The Commission on a Way Forward held its first meeting January 23-26 in Atlanta with 32 members from... 1/26/2017 Show Your Work: Plans for Annual Conference 2017 Are Well Underway http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-for-annual-conference-2017-are-well-underway-7219061 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-for-annual-conference-2017-are-well-underway-7219061 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the Annual Conference Planning Committee are busy preparing for the ... 1/26/2017 Three Mission Insite Trainings Scheduled for 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/three-mission-insite-trainings-scheduled-for-2017-7392886 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/three-mission-insite-trainings-scheduled-for-2017-7392886 The North Georgia Conference is offering three MissionInsite training opportunities in the next ... 1/26/2017 See Collins Memorial UMC in 'Hidden Figures' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/collins-memorial-umc-connects-with-hollywood-7389316 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/collins-memorial-umc-connects-with-hollywood-7389316 Collins Memorial UMC in Atlanta is known for community outreach and beautiful stained glass windows.... 1/24/2017 Disaster Response: Winter Storms in South Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-winter-storms-in-south-georgia-7385750 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-winter-storms-in-south-georgia-7385750 Zoar UMC in Baxley sustained major damage to their sanctuary during Saturday night's storms. Photo: ... 1/23/2017 Bishop Announces the Appointment of Four New District Superintendents http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announces-new-7382413 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/announces-new-7382413 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced four new cabinet-level appointments effective in June.    ... 1/22/2017 HealthFlex Dental and Vision Benefit Details Explained http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-dental-and-vision-benefit-details-explained-3672863 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-dental-and-vision-benefit-details-explained-3672863 The Conference Benefits Office provides the following update to all 2017 HealthFlex Participants who... 1/20/2017 Moeller to Depart Action Ministries Next Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/moeller-to-depart-action-ministries-next-month-7362960 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/moeller-to-depart-action-ministries-next-month-7362960 The Board of Action Ministries has announced that president and CEO Rev. John Moeller will leave the... 1/19/2017 North Georgia Celebrates 2016 Apportionment Giving http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-celebrates-highest-percent-of-apportionment-giving-in-15-years-7362709 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-celebrates-highest-percent-of-apportionment-giving-in-15-years-7362709 Photo: Sean Taylor, layperson and chair of Conference Council on Finance and Administration, ... 1/19/2017 105 Year Old Eagle Scout is Member of Hopewell UMC Tyrone http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/105-year-old-eagle-scout-is-member-of-hopewell-umc-in-tyrone-7322086 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/105-year-old-eagle-scout-is-member-of-hopewell-umc-in-tyrone-7322086 At 105 years old Mr. Lamar Wallace, a member of Hopewell UMC in Tyrone, is thought to be the oldest ... 1/18/2017 United Methodist Childrens Home to Sell Property, Expand and Accelerate its Mission http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/childrens-home-to-sell-property-accererate-mission-7341828 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/childrens-home-to-sell-property-accererate-mission-7341828 On Tuesday, Jan. 17, the board of the United Methodist Children's Home voted to expand its ministry ... 1/18/2017 Common Ground Coffee House Celebrates 1 Year of Coffee and Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/common-ground-coffee-house-celebrates-1-year-of-coffee-and-community-7279390 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/common-ground-coffee-house-celebrates-1-year-of-coffee-and-community-7279390 Members of Connexion UMC at North Covington knew that in order to achieve their dreams of running a ... 1/12/2017 40 New Friends: Clergy Couple Sets Sights on Meeting the Neighbors http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-couple-sets-sights-on-meeting-the-neighbors-7214183 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-couple-sets-sights-on-meeting-the-neighbors-7214183 A passerby made this prayer flag during the Candler Park Festival  By Sybil Davidson  “Hi!” “Nice ... 1/5/2017 Kindling the Fire Lectionary Reading Event Brings Clergy to Glisson http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/kindling-the-fire-lectionary-reading-event-7194174 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/kindling-the-fire-lectionary-reading-event-7194174 A beloved time apart for North Georgia clergy, Kindling the Fire Lectionary Reading Week will ... 1/4/2017 Bishop Announces Three Appointive Cabinet Changes http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-three-appointive-cabinet-changes-7172805 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-three-appointive-cabinet-changes-7172805 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced three changes to the Appointive Cabinet effective June ... 1/3/2017 St. Luke UMC Augusta Damaged by Fire Overnight http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/st-luke-umc-augusta-damaged-by-fire-overnight-7112341 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/st-luke-umc-augusta-damaged-by-fire-overnight-7112341 Members and church pastor Rev. Luther Felder woke to news of a fire at St. Luke UMC in downtown ... 12/28/2016 Praying Our Way Forward: Worship, Study, Discernment, Confession and Prayer for God’s Guidance http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/praying-our-way-forward-conference-wide-week-of-prayer-announced-7092713 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/praying-our-way-forward-conference-wide-week-of-prayer-announced-7092713 North Georgia Conference Week of Prayer to be March 19-25, 2017 The denomination-wide 'Praying Our ... 12/27/2016 Deadline for 2016 Benefits Payments and Apportionment Payments Approaching http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/deadline-for-2016-benefits-payments-and-apportionment-payments-approaching-7009504 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/deadline-for-2016-benefits-payments-and-apportionment-payments-approaching-7009504 The deadline to receive benefits payments to apply toward 2016 balances is December 31, 2016. ... 12/19/2016 Hot Cocoa Outreach Begins Around Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hot-cocoa-outreach-begins-around-atlanta-6986680 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hot-cocoa-outreach-begins-around-atlanta-6986680 The United Methodist Church is taking to the streets of Atlanta and Decatur this week to offer hot ... 12/15/2016 North Georgia Well Represented in First Class of Global Ministries Earthkeepers http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-well-represented-in-historic-first-class-of-global-ministries-earthkeepers-6986688 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-well-represented-in-historic-first-class-of-global-ministries-earthkeepers-6986688 Global Ministries’ Center for Mission Innovation (CMI) held its first-ever United Methodist ... 12/15/2016 Update From the Moderators of the Commission on a Way Forward http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-the-moderators-of-the-commission-on-a-way-forward-6986686 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-the-moderators-of-the-commission-on-a-way-forward-6986686 The following letter was issued to United Methodists from the moderators of The Commission on a Way... 12/15/2016 Bishop Sue Visits Hurricane Matthew Sites, Calls for North Georgia Teams http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-visits-hurricane-matthew-sites-6901125 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-visits-hurricane-matthew-sites-6901125 North Georgia's bishop recently traveled to disaster response sites in South Carolina and North ... 12/8/2016 New Scholarship to Address Economic Challenges Facing Pastoral Leaders http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-scholarship-to-address-economic-challenges-6880987 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-scholarship-to-address-economic-challenges-6880987 North Georgia Conference, Seminaries, to Match Generous Scholarship  The Office of Loans and ... 12/7/2016 United Methodists to Offer Hot Cocoa and Hospitality in Busy Shopping Areas Dec. 15-18 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodists-to-offer-hot-cocoa-6881080 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodists-to-offer-hot-cocoa-6881080 United Methodists will offer a warm smile and hot cocoa on the streets of Atlanta and Decatur Dec. ... 12/7/2016 UMCOR Needs Bedding Kits, Health Kits in Response to Fires http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-needs-bedding-kits-health-kits-in-response-to-fires-6860748 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-needs-bedding-kits-health-kits-in-response-to-fires-6860748 The United Methodist Committee on Relief has put out a call for health kits and bedding kits, ... 12/6/2016 Action Ministries Sunday is December 4 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-sunday-is-december-4-6796583 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-sunday-is-december-4-6796583 Action Ministries is excited about this special annual opportunity to tell its story and engage the ... 11/30/2016 Churches Must Still Comply With Overtime Rules http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/churches-must-still-comply-with-overtime-rules-6774944 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/churches-must-still-comply-with-overtime-rules-6774944 Republished with permission from the Missouri Annual Conference. Early last week, a Federal ... 11/29/2016 Hands Needed: Recovery is Underway Along Coast http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hands-needed-recover-is-underway-along-coast-6775032 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hands-needed-recover-is-underway-along-coast-6775032 When Hurricane Matthew battered the coast, we followed protocol and waited for emergency responders ... 11/29/2016 Suwanee Worship Center Sends of 30K Boxes of Food to Haiti http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/suwanee-worship-center-sends-of-30k-boxes-of-food-to-haiti-6775028 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/suwanee-worship-center-sends-of-30k-boxes-of-food-to-haiti-6775028 The Gwinnett Daily Post recently shared a story about Suwanee Worship Center's Stop Hunger Now ... 11/29/2016 From GCFA: Update on Overtime Rules and Your Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6750872 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6750872 The General Council on Finance and Administration of the UMC shared the following information on the... 11/23/2016 Overtime Rules and Your Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-learn-about-new-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6345586 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-learn-about-new-overtime-rules-and-your-church-6345586 It is important for churches to make a determination as to whether the Department of Labor Overtime... 11/22/2016 Sugarloaf UMC Uses Baptisms to Bless Others http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sugarloaf-umc-uses-baptisms-to-bless-others-6705181 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sugarloaf-umc-uses-baptisms-to-bless-others-6705181 Sugarloaf UMC blesses more than one child when the congregation celebrates an infant baptism. The ... 11/18/2016 Bishop Sue Welcomes Input on District Superintendent Selection http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-welcomes-input-on-district-superintendent-selection-6685604 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-welcomes-input-on-district-superintendent-selection-6685604 North Georgia Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson invites Conference laity and clergy to submit names of ... 11/17/2016 Redan UMC Invests Toward a Brighter Future http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/redan-umc-invests-toward-a-brighter-future-6702313 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/redan-umc-invests-toward-a-brighter-future-6702313 Rev. Dr. Patricia Pace, Pastor of Redan UMC In June 2010, Redan UMC in Lithonia was in need of a ... 11/17/2016 GCFA Offers Group Purchasing Tool for United Methodist Churches http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-offers-group-purchasing-tool-for-united-methodist-churches-6637436 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-offers-group-purchasing-tool-for-united-methodist-churches-6637436 The General Council on Finance and Administration (GCFA) of The United Methodist Church continues to... 11/10/2016 Council of Bishops President Offers Post-Election Congratulations and Prayers http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/council-of-bishops-president-offers-post-election-congratulations-and-prayers-6617230 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/council-of-bishops-president-offers-post-election-congratulations-and-prayers-6617230 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson shares with us the text of a letter from Council of Bishop's President ... 11/9/2016 You're Invited to the United Methodist Center Christmas Open House http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/youre-invited-to-the-united-methodist-center-christmas-open-house-6617009 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/youre-invited-to-the-united-methodist-center-christmas-open-house-6617009 North Georgia United Methodists are invited to a United Methodist Center Christmas Open House on ... 11/9/2016 North Georgia Leaders Attend Extended Cabinet Summit in Jacksonville http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-leaders-challenged-to-lead-with-courage-6617249 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-leaders-challenged-to-lead-with-courage-6617249 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson along with North Georgia's 12 district superintendents and six members of... 11/8/2016 North Georgia United Methodists Open Doors on Election Day http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-open-doors-on-election-day-6595605 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-open-doors-on-election-day-6595605 Pictured: Decatur First UMC's ecumenical Election Night Communion Service invitation. On and before... 11/8/2016 United Methodist Connectional Table Meets http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/connectional-table-meets-in-jacksonville-6596742 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/connectional-table-meets-in-jacksonville-6596742 Rev. Dr. Amy Valdez Barker, top executive of the Connectional Table, is a deacon in the North ... 11/7/2016 After the Storm: Diary of a Disaster Site Visit http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/after-the-storm-diary-of-a-disaster-site-visit-6499715 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/after-the-storm-diary-of-a-disaster-site-visit-6499715 Rev. Scott Parrish visited South Carolina and North Carolina over the last three days on behalf of ... 11/3/2016
Page 1 of 46 1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 next