http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 6/24/2017 2:00:39 AM Bridges Update: Mission Partners Around the World http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bridges-update-mission-partners-around-the-world-8573708 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bridges-update-mission-partners-around-the-world-8573708 The North Georgia Conference Bridges partnerships are based on a 50/50 relationship between our ... 6/22/2017 Celebrating Excellence at Annual Conference 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/celebrating-excellence-8573688 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/celebrating-excellence-8573688 Throughout the 2017 Annual Conference session, members saw the reach of the United Methodist ... 6/22/2017 New UMC Handbook Now Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-umc-handbook-now-available-8573729 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-umc-handbook-now-available-8573729 The new United Methodist Church Handbook for this quadrennium is available, providing a detailed ... 6/22/2017 Sign Up For A Free Personal Pension/Benefits Consultation at Pastor's School http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sign-up-for-personal-pension-benefits-consultation-8573823 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sign-up-for-personal-pension-benefits-consultation-8573823 Do you wonder if you're putting enough in your pension? Or too much? Or how you would know the ... 6/22/2017 Oh, How We Worship: Annual Conference 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/oh-how-we-worship-annual-conference-2017-8537877 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/oh-how-we-worship-annual-conference-2017-8537877 More than a theme, "Show Your Work: Worship That Inspires Action," was put into practice at the 2017... 6/20/2017 Day Three Annual Conference Update: Depart to Serve http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-3-annual-conference-update-depart-to-serve-8528279 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-3-annual-conference-update-depart-to-serve-8528279 Sessions Five and Six: Depart to Serve Survey Please share your feedback on Annual Conference 2017 ... 6/16/2017 Day Two Annual Conference Update: Church Has Broken Out http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-two-annual-conference-update-church-has-broken-out-8506648 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/day-two-annual-conference-update-church-has-broken-out-8506648 Photos Talented photographers are capturing Annual Conference. See photos from each day. ... 6/15/2017 Day One Annual Conference Update: Go to the Font http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-update-for-tuesday-june-13-8488813 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-update-for-tuesday-june-13-8488813 The Hicks family surrounds baby Rowan Atticus Hicks as he is baptized by his grandmother Rev. Nanci ... 6/14/2017 Welcome to Athens: Annual Conference Update for Monday June 12 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcome-to-athens-annual-conference-update-for-monday-june-12-8470902 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcome-to-athens-annual-conference-update-for-monday-june-12-8470902 Young Adults kick off Conference with their annual gathering! Photo by Rev. Dr. Joseph McBrayer. ... 6/12/2017 Trustees Answer Questions About Property Management Proposal http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/trustees-answer-questions-about-property-management-proposal-8409869 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/trustees-answer-questions-about-property-management-proposal-8409869 Annual Conference members who attended their District Pre-Conference Briefing learned about the ... 6/5/2017 Bishop Announces Two New Members of Her Extended Cabinet http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-two-new-members-of-her-extended-cabinet-8390229 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-two-new-members-of-her-extended-cabinet-8390229 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson announced the assignment of two additional members of the North Georgia ... 6/2/2017 History Portrayed in Glass: Wesley Memorial Windows Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/windows-8152226 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/windows-8152226 The Wesley Memorial Windows are pictured at Simpsonwood Retreat Center. They are currently being ... 5/31/2017 Annual Conference Worship Visuals Set to Inspire Action http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-worship-visuals-hope-to-inspire-action-8384818 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-worship-visuals-hope-to-inspire-action-8384818 By Ansley Brackin Communications Clergy and laity may find themselves singing “Come Thou Fount of ... 5/30/2017 Join Us in Prayer for Atlanta First http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/join-us-in-prayer-8364154 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/join-us-in-prayer-8364154 Join us in prayer for Rev. Jasmine Smothers, District Superintendent Dr. Bernice Kirkland, and the ... 5/26/2017 Peace with Justice Sunday Scheduled for June http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/peace-with-justice-sunday-scheduled-for-june-8346446 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/peace-with-justice-sunday-scheduled-for-june-8346446 “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He ... 5/26/2017 Action Ministries to Launch Sixth Year of Smart Lunch, Smart Kid http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-to-launch-sixth-year-of-smart-lunch-smart-kid-8346421 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-to-launch-sixth-year-of-smart-lunch-smart-kid-8346421 Volunteer Opportunities Now Available    Next week Action Ministries will officially launch the ... 5/25/2017 Henderson Named President of Action Ministries http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/henderson-named-president-of-action-ministries-8346605 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/henderson-named-president-of-action-ministries-8346605 The Board of Directors of Action Ministries has named S. Kelley Henderson as the new President and ... 5/25/2017 Young Harris College Board of Trustees Appoints Interim President http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-board-of-trustees-appoints-interim-president-8310120 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-board-of-trustees-appoints-interim-president-8310120 YOUNG HARRIS, GA - Young Harris College Board of Trustees Chair Brantley Barrow announced that Dr. ... 5/24/2017 Powder Springs UMC Welcomes The Potters House Congregation into Membership http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/powers-ferry-umc-welcomes-41-members-8310803 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/powers-ferry-umc-welcomes-41-members-8310803 May 21 was a special day in the life of Powder Springs First UMC. The members of The Potter's House,... 5/23/2017 A New Tradition: All Clergy to Participate in 2017 Ordination Service http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-tradition-all-clergy-to-participate-in-2017-ordination-service-8077294 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-new-tradition-all-clergy-to-participate-in-2017-ordination-service-8077294 UPDATE: Registration for the clergy processional is now closed. A new tradition will begin at Annual... 5/19/2017 Chubb Chapel UMC: Small Church Looms Large in Black History http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/chubb-chapel-umc-small-church-looms-large-in-black-history-8284625 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/chubb-chapel-umc-small-church-looms-large-in-black-history-8284625 By Sam Hodges May 16, 2017 | CAVE SPRING, Ga. (UMNS) Video: Watch and listen at https://youtu.be/Dd... 5/17/2017 Emory University's Dr. Deb McFarland to be Laity Dinner Speaker http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/laity-dinner-speaker-named-8283359 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/laity-dinner-speaker-named-8283359 Dr. Deb McFarland of the Rollins School of Public Health of Emory University, and a member of Glenn ... 5/16/2017 What's New at Annual Conference 2017? http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/whats-new-at-annual-conference-2017-8229686 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/whats-new-at-annual-conference-2017-8229686 Pictured: Rev. Cyndi McDonald and Rev. Pam McCurdy of the Visuals Team display an altar frontal for ... 5/12/2017 Cokesbury Unveils New Ministry Resource Center at Annual Conferences http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/cokesbury-unveils-new-ministry-resource-center-at-annual-conferences-8213189 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/cokesbury-unveils-new-ministry-resource-center-at-annual-conferences-8213189 Cokesbury announced today that it is bringing a new consultative retail experience to Annual ... 5/11/2017 Get in on the Action: 5K to Benefit Youth Service Fund http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/5k-to-benefit-8175044 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/5k-to-benefit-8175044 With a theme of "Show Your Work: Worship that Inspires Action," there's no better time to get in on ... 5/8/2017 HealthFlex Participants: Blueprint for Wellness Time http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-participants-blueprint-for-wellness-time-8175053 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-participants-blueprint-for-wellness-time-8175053 Now is the time for HealthFlex participants to complete their Blueprint for Wellness diagnostic ... 5/8/2017 Wesley Woods Mother’s Day Offering to be Celebrated Across North Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-woods-mother-s-day-offering-to-be-celebrated-across-north-georgia-8171923 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-woods-mother-s-day-offering-to-be-celebrated-across-north-georgia-8171923 NGUMC Churches to Help Seniors In Need Mother’s Day Collection Slated for Sunday, May 14, 2017   ... 5/5/2017 Deacons Gather to Celebrate 20 Years of Serving Church and Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/celebrating-deacons-8170471 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/celebrating-deacons-8170471 On April 27 the North Georgia Conference Order of Deacons celebrated the 20th anniversary of the ... 5/4/2017 Fresh Expressions Round Table: Take a Seat This June http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fresh-expressions-round-table-take-a-seat-this-june-8170446 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fresh-expressions-round-table-take-a-seat-this-june-8170446 If you have attended a Fresh Expressions training event, it's time for your next step. Michael ... 5/4/2017 Glisson Names 9 Theologians-in-Residence for Summer Camp http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/glisson-names-9-theologians-in-residence-for-camp-8170514 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/glisson-names-9-theologians-in-residence-for-camp-8170514 Each summer Glisson Camp and Retreat Center names nine (lucky) clergy to serve for one week as Theol... 5/4/2017 Important IT Updates for Churches and Clergy http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/important-it-updates-for-churches-and-clergy-8170453 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/important-it-updates-for-churches-and-clergy-8170453 North Georgia churches and clergy should take note of several Information/Technology updates: ... 5/4/2017 Roswell UMC to Host Job Fair with Veteran Focus http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/roswell-umc-to-host-job-fair-with-veteran-focus-8170466 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/roswell-umc-to-host-job-fair-with-veteran-focus-8170466 Roswell UMC's Job Networking and America’s Warrior Partnership are hosting a mini job fair with a ... 5/4/2017 Staying Focused on Four Areas of Focus http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/staying-focused-on-four-areas-of-focus-8170439 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/staying-focused-on-four-areas-of-focus-8170439 This year's North Georgia Annual Conference will include an emphasis on the Four Areas of Focus of ... 5/4/2017 WITH Conference to Connect Churches Called to Ministry 'With the Poor' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/with-conference-to-connect-churches-called-to-ministry-with-the-poor-8170450 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/with-conference-to-connect-churches-called-to-ministry-with-the-poor-8170450 Save the date! On Saturday, Aug. 26, the first-ever WITH Conference will take place at Dunwoody UMC.... 5/4/2017 A Message from Bishop Sue on Judicial Council Ruling http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-on-judicial-council-ruling-8129160 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-on-judicial-council-ruling-8129160 Dear brothers and sisters in Christ,   The Judicial Council of The United Methodist Church has just... 4/28/2017 LaGrange College Students Take Service-Learning Trip to D.C. http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-students-take-service-learning-trip-to-dc-8094930 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lagrange-college-students-take-service-learning-trip-to-dc-8094930 More than 20 LaGrange College students and four adults traveled to Washington, D.C., over spring ... 4/27/2017 Bishops Call Special Session of General Conference for 2019 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishops-call-special-session-of-general-conference-for-2019-8058519 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishops-call-special-session-of-general-conference-for-2019-8058519 The United Methodist Council of Bishops has called a Special Session of the General Conference of ... 4/25/2017 A Message from Bishop Sue on Upcoming Judicial Council Hearing http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/judicial-council-hearing-8057472 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/judicial-council-hearing-8057472 I invite you to join me in prayer for our United Methodist Church, our Council of Bishops, our ... 4/24/2017 New Paperless Financial Support Report for Clergy http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-paperless-financial-support-report-for-clergy-8057231 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/new-paperless-financial-support-report-for-clergy-8057231 Beginning in May there is a new paperless compensation report process for North Georgia Conference ... 4/24/2017 North Georgia Clergy & Laity Impacted by ZOE Ministry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/zoe-8054003 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/zoe-8054003 By Ansley Brackin Communications When 14 clergy and laity boarded their flight to Kenya in January ... 4/21/2017 Bishop to Nominate Next Conference Chancellor http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-to-nominate-next-conference-chancellor-8034785 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-to-nominate-next-conference-chancellor-8034785 In June, Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson will nominate Jim Thornton as our next North Georgia Conference... 4/19/2017 City of Decatur to Purchase United Methodist Children's Home Property http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-accepts-offer-for-sale-of-property-8015999 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-accepts-offer-for-sale-of-property-8015999 The United Methodist Children’s Home Agrees to Sell Campus to City of Decatur; Funds from $40 ... 4/17/2017 Holy Thursday Prayer from Bishop Sue http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-thursday-prayer-from-bishop-sue-7994253 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-thursday-prayer-from-bishop-sue-7994253 On this Holy Thursday, Bishop Sue invites you to pray with her the words of this wonderful Brian ... 4/13/2017 Bishop Announces Projected June Appointments http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-projected-june-appointments-7881261 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-projected-june-appointments-7881261 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced projected full-time appointments for North Georgia ... 4/2/2017 Angle-Young Joins Staff of United Methodist Communications in Nashville http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/angle-young-joins-staff-of-united-methodist-communications-in-nashville-7845170 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/angle-young-joins-staff-of-united-methodist-communications-in-nashville-7845170 The Rev. Dr. Teresa Angle-Young, an elder in the North Georgia Conference, has joined the staff of ... 3/30/2017 I-85 Bridge Collapses Just Miles from United Methodist Center http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/i-85-bridge-collapse-7862514 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/i-85-bridge-collapse-7862514 On Thursday evening, March 30, an I-85 overpass in Atlanta collapsed after a massive fire began ... 3/30/2017 Young Harris College President Cathy Cox to Step Down in June http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-president-cathy-cox-to-step-down-in-june-7845161 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-harris-college-president-cathy-cox-to-step-down-in-june-7845161 Young Harris College President Cathy Cox has announced that she will formally step down from the ... 3/30/2017 Due West UMC Welcomes Young Families http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/due-west-umc-welcomes-young-families-7827486 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/due-west-umc-welcomes-young-families-7827486 This is third in a series of stories from growing congregations around the North Georgia Conference.... 3/29/2017 Tips for Moving Pastors http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tips-for-moving-pastors-7825895 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tips-for-moving-pastors-7825895 Susan Miller knows how it feels to live a gypsy’s life. The wife of a corporate hotel executive, ... 3/28/2017 Welcoming A New Pastor http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-a-new-pastor-7825897 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-a-new-pastor-7825897 United Methodist Communications shares ideas to help churches put out the welcome mat in meaningful ... 3/28/2017
Page 1 of 47 1 2 3 4 5 ... 47 next