Youth Ministries Resources and Recommendations

District Youth Coordinators

One strength of the United Methodist Church is our connection to other churches through our conference (North Georgia in our case) and our districts. Your district youth coordinator is a youth minister at a local church in your district who offers his or her services to help promote youth ministry within your district. This is done through planning of district events such as rallies, training events, and even retreats. A DYC is also a great resource person for ideas and getting to know other youth workers (volunteer as well as paid staff) in your area.

To find out your district, click here

Then look below to find out who the District Youth Coordinator of your district is (or a contact person for your district youth ministry):

Athens-Elberton                Rev. Kaylen Short (Midway UMC – Auburn)   kaylen.short@ngumc.net            770-757-9294
Atlanta-College Park         Robert King (Cascade)                                   robert.king@ngumc.net              404-691-5770
Atlanta-Decatur-Oxford     Brett Hellesheim (Mountain Park UMC)         brett7481@gmail.com                 615-336-4415
Atlanta-Emory                   Chris Moss (Tucker First UMC)                      cmoss@tfumc.org                       770-883-3095
Atlanta-Marietta                Nikki Hobus, Kennesaw UMC                         nikkihobus@gmail.com               706-338-5471
Atlanta-Roswell                 Chris Mixer (Simpsonwood UMC)                  cmixer@simpsonwoodumc.org   205-218-7533
Augusta                             Aaron Talbott (Thomson FUMC)                    aaron@thomsonfumc.org           706-595-3936
Gainesville                         Jeremy Noffsinger (Clayton First UMC)         jeremy@claytonmethodist.com   706-782-4426, x 226
Griffin                                Christina Patterson (Jonesboro First)             emphantom@comcast.net          770-823-8562
LaGrange                          Blake Trent (LaGrange First)                         blake.trent@ngumc.net               706-884-4635
Northwest                          Nate Juvinall   (Dalton FUMC)                       dfumcyouth@optilink.us              706-278-8494
Rome-Carrollton                Josh Stitcher (Breman UMC)                         josh.stitcher@ngumc.net            770-537-4925

 

Websites

www.ileadyouth.com                     Cokesbury’s site for youth resources
www.gbod.org/youngpeople          United Methodist resources and links for youth and young adults
www.youthworkermovement.org   A national network all about the hearts and souls of youth workers
www.sejmyp.org                            Southeastern jurisdiction’s site for ministries with young people
www.search-institute.org               Search Institutes’ 40 developmental assets for raising successful young people
www.devozine.org                         Devotional lifestyle magazine for teens and by teens

Books all available through www.cokesbury.com

The Godbearing Life; The Art of Soul Tending for Youth Ministry by Kenda Creasy Dean and Ron Foster
United Methodist Youth Handbook by Michael Selleck
Way to Live: Christian Practices for Teens edited by Dorothy Bass and Don Richter
Purpose Driven Youth Ministry: 9 Essential Foundation for Healthy Growth by Doug Fields
The CORE Realities of Youth Ministry: 9 Biblical Principles That Mark Healthy Youth Ministries by Mike Yaconelli
Single-Digit Youth Groups: Working with Fewer Than 10 Teens by Marcey Balcomb

CDs/DVDs all available through www.cokesbury.com

Power Play Volume 5 – interactive group games (Group Publishing)
Jr High Tuff Stuff and Jr High Bible Stuff – video small group curriculum (Group Publishing)
Nooma DVD series on a variety of topics by Rob Bell (Zondervan)
eMerge – electronic small-group resource that is fun, interactive and transformational