Joe Whittemore

The son of a Methodist minister, Joe was brought up in North Georgia, attended Reinhardt College and graduated from the University of Georgia with a degree in Accounting.  A CPA for over forty years, Joe and his wife, Pat, live in Hartwell, Georgia.  He has two grown daughters and four grandchildren Leah, Whitney, Sara and Joey.
Joe is a part of the Hartwell Rotary Club, having served as President of his local club and as a District Governor for Rotary International District 6910.  Joe was awarded a citation for meritorious service from The Rotary Foundation and, in 1992, the Rotary International Foundation Distinguished Service Award.  In 2011, Joe was honored by Reinhardt University as Distinguished Alumnus of the Year.
Joe is a member of Hartwell First United Methodist Church and serves as a Certified Lay Speaker, Administrative Council member, a Sunday School teacher, a member of the Finance Committee, and Staff/Parrish Relations Committee.
In the North Georgia Conference, Joe’s leadership includes: a member of the Council on Finance and Administration, a member of the Leadership Forum, and a Delegate to Annual Conference from 1982 to 2012.  From 2000-2004, Joe served as the Conference Lay Leader and on the Board of Ordained Ministry.
At the General Church level, Joe currently serves on the Connectional Table, the General Agency Evaluation and Review Committee, and the General Board of Global Ministries Audit Committee.  In the past, Joe has served on the General Conference Committee on Rules and Order, and Audit and Review Committee of the General Church, General Board of Global Ministries Board of Directors, United Methodist Committee on Relief Board of Directors, the United Methodist Development Fund, and the World Methodist Council Executive Committee.
This is Joe’s sixth General Conference.  During the 1992 and 2000 General Conferences, Joe lead the delegation.  Joe also served as a Jurisdictional Conference Delegate seven times, and served on the Jurisdictional Committee on Episcopacy from 1993 to 2008, and served as chair from 2005 to 2008.