LaGrange District


Important Information 

Recently, I had to miss an extended cabinet meeting, due to an illness. I was delighted, therefore, that one of my colleagues took great notes at that meeting, and then shared them with us! Take a look for yourself; notice the great ministries going on right now in our North Georgia Annual Conference! (And hey, thanks for the notes, Dr. Mike Long!)

1) ELI at Camp Glisson - Experiential Leadership Institute (ELI) is a multi-week, immersive leadership development experience for rising 11-12th graders. ELI helps teenagers discover their God-given strengths, reflect on what it means to function as a Christian community and practice servant leadership in a live ministry setting. Check out Summer Camp at Glisson continues to grow. Register at

2) Wesley Woods - Through the annual Mother’s Day Offering, Wesley Woods continue to help older adults with financial assistance and care. Wesley Woods is open to groups and individuals who are looking for a place to serve. Through a new O. Wayne Rollins Endowment, Wesley Woods is recruiting Community Chaplains. Please be sure the Mother’s Day Offering is on your 2019 calendar.

3) Action Ministries - “We Serve” days are in the planning stages for 2019. Over 94,000 clients have been served through September in 2018. Action Ministries Annual Offering is December 12, 2018. Visit

4) Disaster Relief Teams are preparing to go to areas devastated by recent hurricanes. Each district will organize a team for service in the next few months. Scott Parrish ( is our resource person in the Conference Office.  

Next are a few things for consideration:

1) As you conclude your nominations for 2019, especially your delegates to Annual Conference, please nominate people who are spiritually mature, wise and prayerful. If you have a qualified lay person in your church who you think would be a great delegate to General or Jurisdictional Conference, please encourage them to apply for election. They will need to understand that if elected, there will be a financial commitment and it will require time away from work. Clergy, remember that in 2019, we will have the opportunity to declare our intentions to serve as delegates.

2) Overall, the Conference is doing well in receiving apportionments this year, but some of our churches are behind what they were able to do last year. Please, do your best to catch up and stay up to date as we finish strong with our apportionment giving in 2018. The strength of our ministries depends on your faithful giving.

3) PIP Enrollment - Even if you have completed your Clergy Financial Support online, you may have to resubmit because of the new PIP enrollment. For everyone who is yet to complete the form, please be sure to enroll (or opt out) of PIP. More information is on the conference website: https://

5) The Bishop has just completed a video on The Way Forward that you may find helpful to share in your churches. You should have received an email or you can go to the conference website:









District Superintendent

Susan Landry
(706) 882-3343
View Bio

Administrative Assistant

Denise Wilson
(706) 882-3343

Contact Information

200 Church Street
LaGrange, GA 30240

(706) 882-3343 Phone
(706) 882-5369 Fax