Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson Assigned to Virginia Annual Conference


The Jurisdictional Committee on Episcopacy announced Friday, November 4, that Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson will be assigned to the Virginia Annual Conference starting January 1, 2023. 

​Newly confirmed Bishop Robin Dease has been assigned to the North Georgia Annual Conference.

As bishop of the North Georgia Conference, Bishop Sue has led with passion and integrity in a challenging time for the denomination. Her emphasis has been on unity in Christ and steadfastness to our mission.

We will have an opportunity to celebrate Bishop Sue and her family at a special reception on Sunday, December 4, from 3 to 5 pm at Smyrna First UMC. (Reception information)

Bishop Sue was elected bishop by the 2016 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference and was consecrated July 15, 2016. Her first assignment as bishop was to the North Georgia Episcopal Area of The United Methodist Church and she began service in North Georgia on September 1, 2016.

The Jurisdictional Conference elected three new bishops at the November 2-4 session. The Jurisdictional Committee on Episcopacy, comprised of one lay and one clergy representative from each Conference, made episcopal assignments through the next Jurisdictional Conference in July 2024. 

The episcopal assignments for the jurisdiction were:

Alabama / West Florida:
Bishop David Graves

Central Appalachian Missionary (formerly Red Bird):
Bishop Leonard Fairley

Bishop Tom Berlin

Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett

Bishop Leonard Fairley

Bishop Sharma Lewis

North Alabama:
Bishop Debra Wallace-Padgett

North Carolina:
Bishop Connie Shelton

North Georgia:
Bishop Robin Dease

South Carolina:
Bishop Jonathan Holston

South Georgia:
Bishop David Graves

Tennessee-Western Kentucky (formerly Memphis and Tennessee Conferences):
Bishop Bill McAulilly

Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson

Western North Carolina:
Bishop Kenneth Carter