Bishop Watson Among Retiring Bishops Honored at General Conference


General Conference recognized retiring United Methodist bishops during plenary May 19, including North Georgia's episcopal leader Bishop Mike Watson. 

Also retiring is former North Georgia Conference bishop, Bishop Lindsey Davis, and Bishop James King of the South Georgia Conference.

Other Southeastern Jurisdiction retirees are Bishop Young Jin Cho and Bishop Larry Goodpaster.

From the North Central Jurisdiction, Bishop Michael Coyner, Bishop John Hopkins, Bishop Jonathan Keaton, Bishop Deborah Kiesey will retire.

Retiring from the Western Jurisdiction is Bishop Warner H. Brown Jr. and from the Northeastern Jurisdiction are Bishop Marcus Matthews and Bishop Jane Middleton. Middleton retired previously but had been serving an interim appointment.

From the South Central Jurisdiction, the retirees are Bishop Robert Hayes Jr. and Bishop Janice Riggle Huie.

The Central Conference retirees are Bishop John Innis (Liberia), Bishop Kainda Katembo (Southern Congo), Bishop Nkulu Ntanda Ntambo (North Katanga), Bishop Rosemarie Wenner (Germany) and Bishop David Yemba (Central Congo).

Bishop Watson was also recognized as an incoming leader in the Council of Bishops. He will serve as the ecumenical officer beginning in September.