Celebrating Excellence at Annual Conference 2017


Throughout the 2017 Annual Conference session, members saw the reach of the United Methodist connection from our local communities, across our Conference, and around the world. Several churches and individuals were recognized during the Conference session for exemplary work in outreach, evangelism, and more. 
The One Matters Award, given by Discipleship Ministries to a congregation that has grown in numbers and recovered from a struggle, was presented to Suwannee Worship Center UMC and Rev. Ted Rollins, pastor. The One Matters reward includes a $5,000 gift to the congregation.

North Georgia Conference Churches of Excellence in Outreach awards were presented to:

  • Carrollton First UMC
  • Collins Memorial UMC
  • Cornerstone UMC
  • Douglasville FUMC  
  • East Cobb UMC   
  • Hoosier Memorial UMC     
  • Kelley Chapel UMC         
  • Northside UMC         
  • Oak Grove UMC
  • University Heights UMC
  • Vinings UMC
The Harry Denman Evangelism Award was presented to:
  • Clergy – Rev. Dr. Bob Beckwith, director of the Wesley Foundation of the University of Georgia
  • Laity – Dave McCoy, a member of McEachern Memorial UMC in Powder Springs
  • Youth – Simone Barbee, a member of St. James UMC in Alpharetta

The annual United Methodist Connectional Federal Credit Union scholarship was presented to student Gracelyn Askew from Thomson First UMC.

The Southeastern Jurisdiction Siedschlag Award is given annual to one individual who serves as an extraordinary mission interpreter and has a strong commitment to mission work in the SEJ.

“It is truly an honor to present the Siedschlag Award to Mike Yoder,” said Terry Raymond, Conference Global Ministries representative. Mike Yoder is active in mission work in his local community, but perhaps his greatest impact is his involvement in UMCOR, VOAD, and Conference Disaster Response work.