Congratulations to All Who Have Completed 2021 Licensing School


Rev. YoLanda Jones Colton, Chair of the Fellowship of Local Pastors and Associate Members, reads the names of newly appointed local pastors at the 2021 Service of Licensing, Commissioning, and Ordination

Congratulations to all our certified candidates for ministry who have completed our annual License for Pastoral Ministry School. The North Georgia Conference in conjunction with the Office of Methodist Studies at Emory University's Candler School of Theology provide an annual training for those preparing for their first appointment as a Licensed Local Pastor in North Georgia.This year our group of 18 included a few candidates from other annual conferences, who are students at Candler, and participating in the Teaching Parish program. We welcome them to our conference as they begin their educational and ministry journey here in North Georgia.
During our recent Annual Conference session at the Service of Licensing, Commissioning, and Ordination, the names of those being appointed for the first time as Local Pastors were read by Rev. YoLanda Jones Colton, Chair of the Fellowship of Local Pastors and Associate Members, and their names appeared on screen during the service. Not all of our Licensing School participants had received an appointment when that service was held, and we would like to acknowledge and congratulate all those who finished the 80-hour program this week. We appreciate your hard work over the last six weeks and thank the members of our Board of Ordained Ministry who have been reading and reviewing your assignments. Many thanks to the Office of Methodist Studies for their work and for providing the program in a safe environment for our candidates.
Below is a list of those who finished licensing school and the district where they are serving, please congratulate and welcome them to your district!
Ed Baker, South East, Concord & Union Chapel UMC Eatonton
Brenda Bennefield, Central North, Poplar Spring UMC Atlanta
Virginia Brown, Central South, Rust Chapel UMC Oxford
Kelly Claudon, North East, Cumming First UMC
Theneshia Dixon, Central East
Lane Gilbert, North West
Jatin Gill, North West, West Rome UMC
Susie Gilley, North West, Fairview UMC Fort Oglethorpe
Woojin Kang, Central East, Korean Church of Norcross UMC
Nathan Lee, Central East, Johnson UMC Watkinsville
Loretta Luke, Central West, Poplar Springs UMC Sand Hill
Jono Moehlig, Central West
Edward Murrey, North West, Rockmart First UMC
Steve Ring, Central East, Walnut Grove UMC
Debby Stikes, South West, Griffin First UMC
Scott Taylor, North East, McKee's Chapel UMC
Sharon White, Central West, Lindsey Chapel UMC