http://www.ngumc.org Blog Posts RSS Blog Posts RSS en-us 2/23/2018 12:27:05 PM re:Vision - Chess Club http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-chess-club-is-the-work-of-the-church-too-10964674 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-chess-club-is-the-work-of-the-church-too-10964674 Chess Club: This Too is the Work of the Church   By Rev. John Merk ... 2/21/2018 ‘Making a Difference’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/11006690 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/11006690 ‘Making a Difference’ I Was Thinking… There were two old men living in the backwoods of east Texas ... 2/20/2018 From Ashes to Riches http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/from-ashes-to-riches-11005606 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/from-ashes-to-riches-11005606  3D Journey   A rich man's wife became sick.  When her death was drawing near, she ... 2/14/2018 ‘For Such a Time as This’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10964712 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10964712 I Was Thinking… I am enjoying many things about the Winter Olympics.  The beauty of the snow and ... 2/13/2018 Toyota and T-Mobile http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10960249 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10960249   I Was Thinking… I enjoyed the Super Bowl!  It would have been better if the Falcons had returned ... 2/6/2018 re:Vision - Time to ReNew http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-time-to-renew-10961036 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-time-to-renew-10961036 Time to ReNew By Rev. Will Zant We recently introduced the Cannon ... 2/5/2018 District Generosity Initiative http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/district-generosity-initiative-10956457 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/district-generosity-initiative-10956457   Today, January 31 is the deadline for the End of Year Reports for our churches. In this report, ... 1/31/2018 Money Costs http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10943074 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10943074   I Was Thinking… Ralph Waldo Emerson once wrote that “Money often costs too much”.  I have lived ... 1/30/2018 Are You Bent? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/are-you-bent-10886244 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/are-you-bent-10886244 For quite a while, I have been a frustrated violinist. I’ve had problems making pure, clear notes on... 1/29/2018 Try It This Week (A Discipleship Tool) http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/multiplying-discipleship-movement-10506776 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/multiplying-discipleship-movement-10506776 A few years ago, I was given a copy of a booklet entitled, "Born To ... 1/29/2018 ‘Fomo or Fiat?’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10863692 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10863692   I Was Thinking… I have decided that the opposite of faith is not doubt.  Wrestling with doubt can... 1/23/2018 Who Exactly Is Our Neighbor? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/who-exactly-is-our-neighbor-10863204 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/who-exactly-is-our-neighbor-10863204   Who Exactly Is Our Neighbor? By Rev. Leah Cunningham One of the challenges of the ... 1/22/2018 Practice What You Preach! http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/practice-what-you-preach-10829332 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/practice-what-you-preach-10829332 When I went to college, I had to find creative ways to integrate my curious mind with an active ... 1/19/2018 ‘What is More Important?’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10663434 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10663434   I Was Thinking… What is more important (a) the Church or (b) the Kingdom of God?  It depends.  ... 1/16/2018 We Are Champions! http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10569863 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10569863 I Was Thinking… Third Day Thoughts are usually written a few days ahead of the third day of the ... 1/9/2018 CrossFit Bible Study http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/crossfit-bible-study-10863203 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/crossfit-bible-study-10863203 CrossFit Bible Study By Tim Benjamin One of the first things you learn about CrossFit is that it ... 1/8/2018 A New Year http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-new-year-10530459 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-new-year-10530459 New Year’s Day is the oldest of all known holidays celebrated in the world.  And it seems that ... 1/4/2018 First and Last http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10506505 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10506505   I Was Thinking… Let me begin the New Year with a confession.  I have always wanted to be ‘first’.... 1/2/2018 ‘Inn Between’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10506497 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10506497   I Was Thinking… In Gainesville, Georgia (not to be confused with Gainesville, Florida and that ... 12/26/2017 Worship of God that Gets Your Attention http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/worship-of-god-that-gets-your-attention-10388470 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/worship-of-god-that-gets-your-attention-10388470 One of my favorite passages in all of the Scriptures is the story of how the prophet Isaiah heard ... 12/20/2017 Christmas: Sacred or Cultural? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10359519 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10359519   I Was Thinking… Perhaps you saw the article in Sunday’s ‘USA Today’ by Cathy Lynn Grossman ... 12/19/2017 Try It This Week (A Discipleship Tool) http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-10366213 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-10366213 "The Sabbath was made for the good of human beings; they were not made for the Sabbath." - Mark 2:27... 12/18/2017 Best Gifts http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10266472 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10266472   I Was Thinking… Some of the best gifts received are not recognized as gifts when they arrive. ... 12/12/2017 ‘Can’t Never Could’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10154032 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10154032   I Was Thinking… I read a few weeks ago some thoughts that have continued to live with me.  They ... 12/5/2017 Christmas Chaos http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/christmas-chaos-10107550 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/christmas-chaos-10107550 Christmas Chaos Like many of you, I'm already behind on my Christmas preparation.  We still have ... 11/29/2017 ‘Complaints of Christmas’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10064953 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10064953   I Was Thinking… Should it be offensive that Christmas decorations are now on store shelves ... 11/28/2017 Try It This Week! (A Weekly Discipleship Tool) http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-9786663 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-9786663 Commit the fifth (and final) key of discipleship to memory: thus far, we've learned four keys of ... 11/28/2017 ‘Lemonade People’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10007196 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10007196   I Was Thinking… I am thankful for the grateful hearts of people whose lives have crossed my life’... 11/21/2017 Being Thankful http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/being-thankful-9967895 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/being-thankful-9967895 Being Thankful Thanksgiving, the simple, mostly non-commercialized holiday, is often overlooked in ... 11/15/2017 A Great Awakening http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9966039 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9966039   I Was Thinking… Do we need another ‘Great Awakening’?  The ‘First Great Awakening’ swept through ... 11/14/2017 Grace http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/grace-9966435 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/grace-9966435 I recognize that sometimes it is best to start small, so I decided recently to stop eating French ... 11/14/2017 Save the Date: Building Worship Bridges with Cathy Townley April 18, 2018! http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/save-the-date-building-worship-bridges-with-cathy-townley-april-18-2018-9966769 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/save-the-date-building-worship-bridges-with-cathy-townley-april-18-2018-9966769 WORSHIP is the BRIDGE that connects the church to its community. Unfortunately, most churches today ... 11/14/2017 Community, Conversation, and Chicken Wings http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/community-conversation-and-chicken-wings-9964794 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/community-conversation-and-chicken-wings-9964794 A Wing and a Prayer By Rev. Blake Trent Like so many of the churches in our conference,... 11/13/2017 ‘Complete the Sentence’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9889961 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9889961 I Was Thinking… Complete the following sentence:  “Where there is smoke there’s…” A first grade ... 11/7/2017 Does Your Worship Move? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/does-your-worship-move-9908626 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/does-your-worship-move-9908626 On Saturday, Nov. 4, Impact UMC, in partnership with the Office of Congregational Development and ... 11/7/2017 Georgia Tech Wesley Foundation & Tenth Street Underwood UMC Partner to Serve http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-tenth-street-underwood-memorial-umc-partner-to-serve-9908643 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-tenth-street-underwood-memorial-umc-partner-to-serve-9908643 On Saturday, November 4, 2018, the Georgia Tech Wesley Foundation, Tenth Street Underwood Memorial ... 11/7/2017 We Got it Today! ATHN Children's Ministry Gathering http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/athn-childrens-ministry-workers-9909040 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/athn-childrens-ministry-workers-9909040 I had the best time yesterday in Athens! (No, the Dawgs weren’t playing, though I did visit the ... 11/7/2017 Is Your Church Ready to Receive Guests? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/are-you-ready-for-guests-9888686 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/are-you-ready-for-guests-9888686 Worship is the most important thing we do on Sunday as the Church - the body of Christ. Pastors and ... 11/3/2017 Seeing God's Gifts in People of All Abilities http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/seeing-gods-gifts-in-people-of-all-abilities-9888665 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/seeing-gods-gifts-in-people-of-all-abilities-9888665 What a joy it is to be able to be in ministry with "people of all abilities!"  That was the "take ... 11/3/2017 A New Way of Seeing http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-new-way-of-seeing-9870100 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-new-way-of-seeing-9870100 Ever since I was a child in Sunday school, I have always been fascinated with Jesus.  As a child, I ... 11/1/2017 United Methodist Children's Home finds a new Home! http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-finds-a-new-home-9887236 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-finds-a-new-home-9887236 Today, members of the Board of Trustees, local dignitaries, long time supporters, former residents, ... 11/1/2017 ‘Masks and Make-Up’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9850089 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9850089 I Was Thinking… This is the season of masks and make-up.  I remember so many disguises across the ... 10/31/2017 UMCOR Badge Makers http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/umcor-badge-makers-9814959 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/umcor-badge-makers-9814959 This week offered the usual rhythm of email, phone calls, miles, and meetings. One new gathering was... 10/27/2017 Georgia Higher Education Commission http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-higher-education-commission-9787112 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-higher-education-commission-9787112 As a member of the board of the Georgia Commission on Higher Education, I was privileged to ... 10/26/2017 ‘Friday the 13th’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9750678 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9750678   I Was Thinking… On Friday the 13th, I had my 6 month check-up with my physician.  I’m not sure ... 10/24/2017 600 Students and Volunteers Participate in Rooted http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/600-students-and-volunteers-participate-in-rooted-9751009 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/600-students-and-volunteers-participate-in-rooted-9751009 This October, nearly 600 students and volunteers from all over the North Georgia Conference traveled... 10/24/2017 SEJ Black Methodists for Church Renewal http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/sej-black-methodists-for-church-renewal-9749460 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/sej-black-methodists-for-church-renewal-9749460 The Black Methodists for Church Renewal met in Atlanta October 19-21 for its 49th year. The meeting ... 10/20/2017 Welcome to the Blog: Every Day is Different http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/welcome-to-the-blog-every-day-is-different-9730131 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/welcome-to-the-blog-every-day-is-different-9730131 Welcome to the Connectional Ministries blog! The CM team will be sharing occasional updates in story... 10/18/2017 Why Systems Matter http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/why-systems-matter-9730451 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/why-systems-matter-9730451 WHY SYSTEMS MATTER  I'm halfway through Charge Conference season! My schedule of visiting all 56 ... 10/18/2017 ‘Not One. Not Two’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9748297 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9748297   I Was Thinking… “How does a person seek union with God?” the seeker asked.  “The harder you seek,... 10/17/2017
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next