http://www.ngumc.org Blog Posts RSS Blog Posts RSS en-us 12/13/2017 1:09:59 PM Best Gifts http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10266472 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10266472   I Was Thinking… Some of the best gifts received are not recognized as gifts when they arrive. ... 12/12/2017 ‘Can’t Never Could’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10154032 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10154032   I Was Thinking… I read a few weeks ago some thoughts that have continued to live with me.  They ... 12/5/2017 Christmas Chaos http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/christmas-chaos-10107550 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/christmas-chaos-10107550 Christmas Chaos Like many of you, I'm already behind on my Christmas preparation.  We still have ... 11/29/2017 ‘Complaints of Christmas’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10064953 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10064953   I Was Thinking… Should it be offensive that Christmas decorations are now on store shelves ... 11/28/2017 Try It This Week! (A Weekly Discipleship Tool) http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-9786663 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-9786663 Commit the fifth (and final) key of discipleship to memory: thus far, we've learned four keys of ... 11/28/2017 ‘Lemonade People’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10007196 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/10007196   I Was Thinking… I am thankful for the grateful hearts of people whose lives have crossed my life’... 11/21/2017 Being Thankful http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/being-thankful-9967895 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/being-thankful-9967895 Being Thankful Thanksgiving, the simple, mostly non-commercialized holiday, is often overlooked in ... 11/15/2017 A Great Awakening http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9966039 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9966039   I Was Thinking… Do we need another ‘Great Awakening’?  The ‘First Great Awakening’ swept through ... 11/14/2017 Grace http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/grace-9966435 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/grace-9966435 I recognize that sometimes it is best to start small, so I decided recently to stop eating French ... 11/14/2017 Save the Date: Building Worship Bridges with Cathy Townley April 18, 2018! http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/save-the-date-building-worship-bridges-with-cathy-townley-april-18-2018-9966769 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/save-the-date-building-worship-bridges-with-cathy-townley-april-18-2018-9966769 WORSHIP is the BRIDGE that connects the church to its community. Unfortunately, most churches today ... 11/14/2017 Community, Conversation, and Chicken Wings http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/community-conversation-and-chicken-wings-9964794 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/community-conversation-and-chicken-wings-9964794 A Wing and a Prayer By Rev. Blake Trent Like so many of the churches in our conference,... 11/13/2017 ‘Complete the Sentence’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9889961 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9889961 I Was Thinking… Complete the following sentence:  “Where there is smoke there’s…” A first grade ... 11/7/2017 Does Your Worship Move? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/does-your-worship-move-9908626 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/does-your-worship-move-9908626 On Saturday, Nov. 4, Impact UMC, in partnership with the Office of Congregational Development and ... 11/7/2017 Georgia Tech Wesley Foundation & Tenth Street Underwood UMC Partner to Serve http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-tenth-street-underwood-memorial-umc-partner-to-serve-9908643 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-tenth-street-underwood-memorial-umc-partner-to-serve-9908643 On Saturday, November 4, 2018, the Georgia Tech Wesley Foundation, Tenth Street Underwood Memorial ... 11/7/2017 We Got it Today! ATHN Children's Ministry Gathering http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/athn-childrens-ministry-workers-9909040 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/athn-childrens-ministry-workers-9909040 I had the best time yesterday in Athens! (No, the Dawgs weren’t playing, though I did visit the ... 11/7/2017 Is Your Church Ready to Receive Guests? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/are-you-ready-for-guests-9888686 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/are-you-ready-for-guests-9888686 Worship is the most important thing we do on Sunday as the Church - the body of Christ. Pastors and ... 11/3/2017 Seeing God's Gifts in People of All Abilities http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/seeing-gods-gifts-in-people-of-all-abilities-9888665 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/seeing-gods-gifts-in-people-of-all-abilities-9888665 What a joy it is to be able to be in ministry with "people of all abilities!"  That was the "take ... 11/3/2017 A New Way of Seeing http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-new-way-of-seeing-9870100 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-new-way-of-seeing-9870100 Ever since I was a child in Sunday school, I have always been fascinated with Jesus.  As a child, I ... 11/1/2017 United Methodist Children's Home finds a new Home! http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-finds-a-new-home-9887236 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-finds-a-new-home-9887236 Today, members of the Board of Trustees, local dignitaries, long time supporters, former residents, ... 11/1/2017 ‘Masks and Make-Up’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9850089 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9850089 I Was Thinking… This is the season of masks and make-up.  I remember so many disguises across the ... 10/31/2017 UMCOR Badge Makers http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/umcor-badge-makers-9814959 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/umcor-badge-makers-9814959 This week offered the usual rhythm of email, phone calls, miles, and meetings. One new gathering was... 10/27/2017 Georgia Higher Education Commission http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-higher-education-commission-9787112 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/georgia-higher-education-commission-9787112 As a member of the board of the Georgia Commission on Higher Education, I was privileged to ... 10/26/2017 ‘Friday the 13th’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9750678 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9750678   I Was Thinking… On Friday the 13th, I had my 6 month check-up with my physician.  I’m not sure ... 10/24/2017 600 Students and Volunteers Participate in Rooted http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/600-students-and-volunteers-participate-in-rooted-9751009 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/600-students-and-volunteers-participate-in-rooted-9751009 This October, nearly 600 students and volunteers from all over the North Georgia Conference traveled... 10/24/2017 SEJ Black Methodists for Church Renewal http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/sej-black-methodists-for-church-renewal-9749460 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/sej-black-methodists-for-church-renewal-9749460 The Black Methodists for Church Renewal met in Atlanta October 19-21 for its 49th year. The meeting ... 10/20/2017 Welcome to the Blog: Every Day is Different http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/welcome-to-the-blog-every-day-is-different-9730131 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/welcome-to-the-blog-every-day-is-different-9730131 Welcome to the Connectional Ministries blog! The CM team will be sharing occasional updates in story... 10/18/2017 Why Systems Matter http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/why-systems-matter-9730451 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/why-systems-matter-9730451 WHY SYSTEMS MATTER  I'm halfway through Charge Conference season! My schedule of visiting all 56 ... 10/18/2017 ‘Not One. Not Two’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9748297 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9748297   I Was Thinking… “How does a person seek union with God?” the seeker asked.  “The harder you seek,... 10/17/2017 A Night of Awareness http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-night-of-awareness-9729887 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-night-of-awareness-9729887 A huge THANK YOU this evening to the pastoral staff, the people of Sam Jones UMC and the Northwest ... 10/17/2017 Connectional Ministries Board Meeting http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/connectional-ministries-board-meeting-9710448 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/connectional-ministries-board-meeting-9710448 The Connectional Ministries Board met to celebrate the ways we have been connecting local churches ... 10/14/2017 ELI Applications Open for Youth in Your Congregation http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/eli-applications-open-9693046 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/eli-applications-open-9693046 Most people never dive deeply into who God created them to be and how God created them to lead. ELI ... 10/13/2017 KidMin Leaders Connecting http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/kidmin-leaders-connecting-9730251 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/kidmin-leaders-connecting-9730251 The North Georgia Conference is blessed with dedicated, creative, and faithful Children's Ministry ... 10/13/2017 Thank You For Giving, Now Consider Going http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/thank-you-for-giving-now-consider-going-9693048 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/thank-you-for-giving-now-consider-going-9693048 North Georgia United Methodists from more than 300 congregations have given more than $400,000 to ... 10/13/2017 Planning the Next Chapter of the Philippines Bridge http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/planning-the-next-chapter-of-the-philippines-bridge-9692906 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/planning-the-next-chapter-of-the-philippines-bridge-9692906 Dr. Glenn Paraso, Global Ministries Board member and member of the Good Samaritan UMC in Quezon ... 10/12/2017 Meeting With National Young People's Ministry Leaders http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/national-young-peoples-ministry-leaders-9692903 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/national-young-peoples-ministry-leaders-9692903 Spent an enjoyable 3 days with the national young people's Ministry leaders. This is a wonderful ... 10/11/2017 ‘A Soul Matter’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9608560 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9608560 I Was Thinking… Have you noticed that conflict is everywhere?  According to an Executive Coaching ... 10/10/2017 Welcome http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/welcome-9639268 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/welcome-9639268 That Atlanta Roswell District 10/10/2017 Have A Little Faith http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/have-a-little-faith-9589945 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/have-a-little-faith-9589945 Have a Little Faith   Some days are difficult than others.  Who hasn't experienced this on a rainy ... 10/4/2017 ‘Remembered Well’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9540569 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9540569 I Was Thinking… This past Sunday was World Communion Sunday.  All over the world and in all of the ... 10/3/2017 ‘Each Other’s Skin’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9438481 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9438481 I Was Thinking… When I was in the ninth grade at Spalding County Junior High School, our school ... 9/26/2017 Fall Is On The Way http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/fall-is-on-the-way-9386590 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/fall-is-on-the-way-9386590 Fall is on the Way When I was involved in campus ministry, I had a student whose spiritual ... 9/20/2017 “A God-Thing” http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9368803 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9368803   I Was Thinking… I read this past week that a bride-to-be said “It was a God-thing that Hurricane ... 9/19/2017 re:Vision - Caregivers Ministry at Due West http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-caregivers-ministry-at-due-west-9386616 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-caregivers-ministry-at-due-west-9386616 By Sheila Welch Every 66 seconds another person is diagnosed with Alzheimer's and must have care. ... 9/18/2017 Have You Heard the News? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9368801 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9368801 I Was Thinking… Have you heard the news?  The world is coming to an end!  That’s right, with all ... 9/12/2017 Bridge Building with X’s and O’s http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/bridge-building-with-x-s-and-o-s-9274248 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/bridge-building-with-x-s-and-o-s-9274248 I have a fundamental belief that churches need to produce disciples who build bridges ... 9/6/2017 ‘From the Lips of God’ http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9237000 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9237000 I Was Thinking… I’ve been reading Eugene Peterson’s book entitled Under the Unpredictable Plant: An... 9/5/2017 Memory Loss http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9179463 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9179463 I Was Thinking… Do you ever struggle with memory loss?  I know I do.  For example I attended the ... 8/29/2017 “How Much Does a Miracle Cost?” http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9100162 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/9100162 I Was Thinking… She made her way six blocks to that small town’s drug store (as they called it).  ... 8/22/2017 re:Vision - BBQ Bob Blues Festival http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-bbq-bob-blues-festival-9099632 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/re-vision-bbq-bob-blues-festival-9099632 By Rev. Theresa Coleman On September 9 Walnut Grove UMC will host “Barbeque Bob” Blues Festival, a ... 8/21/2017 'Not So Anymore' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/not-so-anymore-9043219 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/not-so-anymore-9043219 I Was Thinking… It used to be that the world seemed so big.  Watching the news on television of ... 8/15/2017
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next