http://www.ngumc.org Blog Posts RSS Blog Posts RSS en-us 10/1/2020 1:58:22 AM The MacGyver Way of Seeing http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/the-macgyver-way-of-seeing-14319490 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/the-macgyver-way-of-seeing-14319490   The MacGyver Way of Seeing   Does the name Angus “Mac” MacGyver ring a bell? If you remember 80s ... 9/30/2020 Mind the Gap Between Stuff and Sayings http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/mind-the-gap-between-stuff-and-sayings-14248989 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/mind-the-gap-between-stuff-and-sayings-14248989 Many churches have a mission statement and perhaps even a vision statement. But have you ever ... 9/16/2020 On the Journey http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/on-the-journey-14143198 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/on-the-journey-14143198 We're living a strange world. I can't believe that the dog days of August are here! School is ... 8/5/2020 Finding A Life's Calling http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/finding-a-lifes-calling-14137386 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/finding-a-lifes-calling-14137386 Finding a Life’s Calling   This year marks 30 years since I graduated from college. I was the ... 7/22/2020 What's Next? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/whats-next-14122765 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/whats-next-14122765 One of the most paralyzing questions that people ask during a transition is: What’s next? When ... 7/8/2020 'Blessings' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/blessings-14031594 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/blessings-14031594 I Was Thinking… One never quite knows where life’s journey will take them.  The story of life ... 6/30/2020 What's The Story Driving You? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/whats-the-story-driving-you-14029787 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/whats-the-story-driving-you-14029787   This month marks the 25th anniversary of my ordination in the United Methodist Church. Over the ... 6/24/2020 'Both/And Living' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/both-and-living-14028483 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/both-and-living-14028483 I Was Thinking… Is it possible to live in a ‘both/and’ world?  We seem to be living in days of ‘... 6/23/2020 Paralysis of Analysis http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/paralysis-of-analysis-14024565 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/paralysis-of-analysis-14024565 I Was Thinking… It is a problem of ethics.  You have an opportunity to solve the problem.  You are ... 6/16/2020 Hovering Over the Hurricane http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/hovering-over-the-hurricane-14021511 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/hovering-over-the-hurricane-14021511 It’s hurricane season. As I write, Tropical Storm Cristobal is crawling across Mexico and about to ... 6/10/2020 'Fair or Foul?' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/fair-or-foul-14018684 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/fair-or-foul-14018684 I Was Thinking… In baseball (which I miss by the way) there is a ‘foul line’ that runs from home ... 6/9/2020 'Silence Is Violence' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/silence-is-violence-14011155 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/silence-is-violence-14011155 I Was Thinking… In Malcolm Gladwell’s book ‘The Tipping Point’, he writes how an idea can skyrocket... 6/2/2020 Try It This Week (A Disciple-Making Tool) http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-10366213 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/try-it-this-week-a-weekly-discipleship-tool-10366213 The mission of The United Methodist Church is to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the ... 6/2/2020 Transitions http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/transitions-14008796 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/transitions-14008796 During July and September, we will experience several transitions throughout the district. The ... 5/27/2020 'Say Something' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/say-something-14001800 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/say-something-14001800 I Was Thinking… There are people who ‘have something to say’…and then there are people who ‘have to... 5/26/2020 Opportunity or Opportunist http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/opportunity-or-opportunist-13997652 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/opportunity-or-opportunist-13997652 I Was Thinking… Opportunity – noun – a set of circumstances that makes it possible to do something.... 5/19/2020 Discipleship: Bridge Building with X’s and O’s http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/discipleship-bridge-building-with-x-s-and-o-s-13996616 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/discipleship-bridge-building-with-x-s-and-o-s-13996616 I have a fundamental belief that churches need to produce disciples who build bridges that connect ... 5/13/2020 'At Hello' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/at-hello-13993446 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/at-hello-13993446 I Was Thinking… Some of us are dog lovers and some of us are cat lovers…I suppose it is possible ... 5/12/2020 'Good Old Days' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/good-old-days-13935139 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/good-old-days-13935139 I Was Thinking… Aren’t old photos fun?  They make us laugh and they make us cry.  I have a photo ... 5/5/2020 Easter Creates Adaptive Disciples http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/easter-creates-adaptive-disciples-13653072 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/easter-creates-adaptive-disciples-13653072 How was your Easter? Easter was very different for me this year. It forced me to embody the Easter ... 4/29/2020 'Shielding Others' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/shielding-others-13650833 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/shielding-others-13650833 I Was Thinking… The Spartans, a warrior society in ancient Greece, were feared and revered for ... 4/28/2020 'We Win' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/we-win-13622350 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/we-win-13622350 I Was Thinking… Like you, I’ve been doing my best to focus on the positive in these days of “... 4/21/2020 Lessons from Kermit the Frog http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/lessons-from-kermit-the-frog-13620119 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/lessons-from-kermit-the-frog-13620119 The days of the weeks have blurred together. I believe that this is day 34 of my physical ... 4/15/2020 'Rhythms' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/rhythms-13616319 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/rhythms-13616319 I Was Thinking… Rhythms are important in life.  In Georgia we are people of seasonal rhythms.  Our ... 4/14/2020 Easter http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/easter-13615303 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/easter-13615303  My Dear Clergy and Churches of the Rome-Carrollton District,   You have been in my prayers and on ... 4/8/2020 'Troubled' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/troubled-13613068 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/troubled-13613068 I Was Thinking… Have you ever been skeptical about something?  The adjective word ‘skeptical’ ... 4/7/2020 Living In The Wilderness http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/living-in-the-wilderness-13541584 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/living-in-the-wilderness-13541584 Have you gone stir-crazy from cabin fever yet? If it weren't for Dionne's birthday on Tuesday, March... 4/1/2020 'Upstream' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/upstream-13539595 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/upstream-13539595 I Was Thinking… “In the small fishing village, in the mid thirteenth century, by the Warlegan ... 3/31/2020 'Adjective Shifting' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/adjective-shifting-13535297 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/adjective-shifting-13535297 I Was Thinking… Here are some definitions…Introvert-a shy reticent person; Extrovert-an outgoing, ... 3/24/2020 'Uncharted' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/uncharted-13526760 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/uncharted-13526760 I Was Thinking… Have you been uncertain as to what to think about COVID-19 “Corona Virus”?  I have ... 3/17/2020 Engagement: Asking About Life http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/engagement-asking-about-life-13531147 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/engagement-asking-about-life-13531147 In just fourteen days, my new book Discipleship Path will hit the presses! I’m excited ... 3/17/2020 Blockhead http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/blockhead-13430777 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/blockhead-13430777 I Was Thinking… In Christopher Ritter’s book entitled Seven Things John Wesley Expected Us to Do ... 3/10/2020 Community Engagement http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/community-engagement-13424734 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/community-engagement-13424734 What questions are people in your community asking? I've asked several congregations in the ... 3/4/2020 Change http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/change-13421920 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/change-13421920 I Was Thinking… Do any of us enjoy change?  Perhaps you’ve encountered the quote, “The Only thing ... 3/3/2020 'Who Can Be Trusted?' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/who-can-be-trusted-13307890 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/who-can-be-trusted-13307890 I Was Thinking… There is much in the air these days about trust and it’s lacking in our world.  Who... 2/25/2020 Prayers http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/prayers-13280793 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/prayers-13280793   Prayer Do you remember the bedtime prayer, “Now He lay me down to sleep?” If you’re like me, ... 2/19/2020 Why? http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/why-13276668 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/why-13276668 I Was Thinking… Yogi Berra, the well-known catcher for the New York Yankees, and Hank Aaron, who at... 2/18/2020 'Have a Heart' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/have-a-heart-13262000 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/have-a-heart-13262000 I Was Thinking… I remember the sound of our children’s first heartbeat.  Our children were born in ... 2/11/2020 Leadership Pipeline http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/leadership-pipeline-13253647 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/leadership-pipeline-13253647 Leadership Pipeline Over the past few years, I have worked with churches to develop a leadership ... 2/5/2020 'Red Shoes' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/red-shoes-13249420 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/red-shoes-13249420 I Was Thinking… My mentor in preaching, Dr. Fred Craddock, died of complications due to Parkinson’s... 2/4/2020 'Throwing Furniture' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/throwing-furniture-13181794 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/throwing-furniture-13181794 I Was Thinking… Have you ever been so angry that you wanted to throw furniture?  We certainly know ... 1/28/2020 The Measure of a Person http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/the-measure-of-a-person-13170917 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/the-measure-of-a-person-13170917 The Measure of a Person Monday, January 20, marked the 37th celebration of Martin Luther King, Jr. ... 1/22/2020 'If Only...' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/if-only-13148865 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/if-only-13148865 I Was Thinking… We often think in terms of ‘if only…’.  ‘If only I were rich…’  ‘If only I were ... 1/21/2020 'Answer or Not?' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/answer-or-not-13142708 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/answer-or-not-13142708 I Was Thinking… I’m not sure I can write it better than Richard Rohr.  This is from a recent ... 1/14/2020 'Getting Along' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/getting-along-13137012 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/getting-along-13137012 I Was Thinking… “Why can’t we all just get along with one another?”  I love the way the letter of ... 1/7/2020 On The Journey http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/on-the-journey-13133657 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/on-the-journey-13133657 Learning to Adapt to Change New Year’s Eve will mark my first anniversary of attending LA Fitness ... 1/1/2020 'Word of the Year' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/word-of-the-year-13132320 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/word-of-the-year-13132320 I Was Thinking… Can you say ‘distraction’?  When I think of 2019…I think ‘distraction’.  ... 12/31/2019 'An Alternate Way' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/an-alternate-way-13130896 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/an-alternate-way-13130896 I Was Thinking… Our Christmas gift to you is a story from one of my mentors and favorite preachers,... 12/24/2019 'A Child Leads' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-child-leads-13111991 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/a-child-leads-13111991 I Was Thinking… The prophet Isaiah proclaims, “The wolf shall live with the lamb, the leopard shall... 12/17/2019 'AND Witness' http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/and-witness-13106386 http://www.ngumc.org/blogsdetail/and-witness-13106386 I Was Thinking… Patricia Holbrook in her Saturday’s AJC Commentary entitled “What will they say ... 12/10/2019
Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next