http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 1/16/2018 11:09:43 PM Mission Information for Your Church as We Start 2018 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/mission-updates-10664391 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/mission-updates-10664391 Rev. Scott Parrish shares the following important mission updates for your church. From preparation ... 1/16/2018 Hartwell First UMC Asks for Prayers, Letters as Railroad Files to Condemn Portion of Church Property http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hartwell-first-umc-asks-for-prayers-letters-as-railroad-files-to-condemn-portion-of-church-property-10548843 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hartwell-first-umc-asks-for-prayers-letters-as-railroad-files-to-condemn-portion-of-church-property-10548843 Hartwell First UMC in the Athens-Elberton District is asking for prayers as the congregation braces... 1/5/2018 Completing Your Church Year End Reports? Note These Changes http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/completing-your-church-year-end-reports-note-these-changes-10529768 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/completing-your-church-year-end-reports-note-these-changes-10529768 As you complete your church's End of Year report you'll notice new line numbers for this quadrenium ... 1/4/2018 Emory Exhibit Explores Wesley, Methodism's Legacy in America http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/emory-exhibit-explores-wesley-methodisms-legacy-in-america-10529775 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/emory-exhibit-explores-wesley-methodisms-legacy-in-america-10529775 A new exhibit at Emory University’s Pitts Theology Library at Candler School of Theology focuses on ... 1/4/2018 Save the Date: Slate of ERT Trainings Scheduled This Season http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-ert-trainings-10530318 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-ert-trainings-10530318 As our neighbors near and far recover from a particularly destructive hurricane season, we in North ... 1/4/2018 Campus Crawl: Retreat for High School Students Takes to the Road for College Tour http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/campus-crawl-retreat-for-high-school-students-takes-them-on-college-tour-10510756 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/campus-crawl-retreat-for-high-school-students-takes-them-on-college-tour-10510756 The North Georgia Conference is teaming up with United Methodist college presidents and campus ... 1/3/2018 Levan Takes New Position in Office of Ministerial Services http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/levan-takes-new-position-in-office-of-ministerial-services-10508444 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/levan-takes-new-position-in-office-of-ministerial-services-10508444 The North Georgia Conference is pleased to announce the promotion of D. Michelle Levan to the ... 1/2/2018 Retired Clergy Invited to Spring Day Apart with Bishop Sue http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/retiree-spring-10506827 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/retiree-spring-10506827 North Georgia Conference retired clergy are invited to a Spring Day Apart with Bishop Sue ... 1/2/2018 Welcoming All: Deaf-Friendly Worship Services http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-all-deaf-friendly-worship-services-10357010 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-all-deaf-friendly-worship-services-10357010 The following are recommendations from the United Methodist Committee on Deaf and Hard of Hearing ... 12/18/2017 Living United: Registration Open for Conference Young Adult Retreat http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/living-united-registration-open-conference-young-adult-retreat-10306279 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/living-united-registration-open-conference-young-adult-retreat-10306279 Our world needs followers of Jesus who know how to have difficult conversations with love. Our ... 12/14/2017 Reinhardt Football Team to Play in National Championship Saturday http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/reinhardt-football-team-to-play-in-national-championship-saturday-10306234 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/reinhardt-football-team-to-play-in-national-championship-saturday-10306234 When Reinhardt University embarked on the creation of a football program, leaders hoped for a ... 12/14/2017 Growing Churches: Three Trends We Spotted in 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/growing-churches-looking-back-at-a-series-10288576 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/growing-churches-looking-back-at-a-series-10288576 In early 2017, the North Georgia Conference communications office asked District Superintendents to ... 12/13/2017 Christmas Cheer: Retirees Gather for Annual Luncheon http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/christmas-retirees-gather-for-annual-luncheon-10266629 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/christmas-retirees-gather-for-annual-luncheon-10266629 More than 100 North Georgia retired pastors and spouses gathered on Dec. 11 at Oak Grove UMC for ... 12/12/2017 Rollins Foundation Awards Foundation of Wesley Woods $3.3 Million to Endow New Pastoral Care Program http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rollins-foundation-awards-foundation-of-wesley-woods-3-3-million-to-endow-new-pastoral-care-program-10266492 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rollins-foundation-awards-foundation-of-wesley-woods-3-3-million-to-endow-new-pastoral-care-program-10266492 New Program to Provide Critical Spiritual Care for 1,800 Senior Adults  Living at All 10 Wesley ... 12/12/2017 3 Steps to Telling Better Stories at Your Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/3-steps-to-telling-better-stories-at-your-church-10208209 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/3-steps-to-telling-better-stories-at-your-church-10208209 Editors Note: The North Georgia Conference invited writer and former local church communications ... 12/7/2017 Delegate Counts for 2020 General Conference Announced http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/delegate-counts-for-2020-general-conference-announced-10208273 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/delegate-counts-for-2020-general-conference-announced-10208273 The Secretary of the General Conference has announced the number of delegates assigned to each ... 12/7/2017 Donor Makes $1 Million Gift to LaGrange College http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/donor-makes-1-million-gift-to-lagrange-college-10208317 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/donor-makes-1-million-gift-to-lagrange-college-10208317 Photo:  Jerry Wilkinson of Atlanta and his family unveil a sign proclaiming the new name of LaGrange... 12/7/2017 North Georgia Delivers Relief Supplies to UMCOR Sagar Brown Depot http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-delivers-load-of-relief-supplies-to-umcor-10208313 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-delivers-load-of-relief-supplies-to-umcor-10208313 Volunteers from the Conference Disaster Response warehouse at Impact recently loaded a truck for ... 12/7/2017 Rev. Dr. Alice Rogers Named Malone Dodson Clergy Award Recipient http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rogers-named-malone-dodson-clergy-award-recipient-10208321 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rogers-named-malone-dodson-clergy-award-recipient-10208321 Dr. Alice Rogers receives the 2017 Malone Dodson Clergy Award from Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson   ... 12/7/2017 Thank You for Apportionment Giving http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/thank-you-for-apportionment-giving-10208221 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/thank-you-for-apportionment-giving-10208221 Bishop Sue received a letter of thanks from Moses Kumar, General Secretary of the General Council on... 12/7/2017 Fill 'Blessing Bags' for Low-Income Senior at Wesley Woods http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fill-blessing-bags-for-low-income-senior-at-wesley-woods-10110675 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fill-blessing-bags-for-low-income-senior-at-wesley-woods-10110675 Wesley Woods is offering an opportunity for churches or individuals to "be a blessing" to ... 11/30/2017 Fresh Expressions: Pioneer Learning Opportunity in North Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fresh-expressions-pioneer-learning-opportunity-in-north-georgia-10110347 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fresh-expressions-pioneer-learning-opportunity-in-north-georgia-10110347 If you are interested in starting a Fresh Expression of Church or are already involved in the ... 11/30/2017 Bibliodrama Class at Candler Brings Scripture to Life http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bibliodrama-class-at-candler-brings-scripture-to-life-10107284 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bibliodrama-class-at-candler-brings-scripture-to-life-10107284 By Sybil Davidson On a Tuesday evening at Candler School of Theology, students stroll into a ... 11/29/2017 Conference Contracts with Steeplecom http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-contracts-with-steeplecom-10107519 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-contracts-with-steeplecom-10107519 The North Georgia Conference has entered into an agreement with Steeplecom, an organization that ... 11/29/2017 Church of the Resurrection Offers Three-Year, Debt-Free Fellowship Program http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-of-the-resurection-offers-enriching-debt-free-fellows-program-10053370 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-of-the-resurection-offers-enriching-debt-free-fellows-program-10053370 Want to make a difference, or know someone who does? The United Methodist Church of the Resurrection... 11/27/2017 Giving Tuesday: United Methodists Support Ministries Around the World http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/giving-tuesday-united-methodists-support-ministries-around-the-world-10053278 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/giving-tuesday-united-methodists-support-ministries-around-the-world-10053278 Connect your passion with God's mission! That's the idea behind the UMC #GivingTuesday initiative ... 11/27/2017 Let’s Talk: Churches and Difficult Conversations http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lets-talk-churches-and-difficult-conversations-10053591 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lets-talk-churches-and-difficult-conversations-10053591 Photo: Notes from a difficult conversation at Elizabeth Lee UMC. By Rachel Quartarone   In this ... 11/27/2017 Fraud Alert: Phishing Scam Targets NGUMC Clergy http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fraud-alert-phishing-scam-targets-ngumc-clergy-10050074 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fraud-alert-phishing-scam-targets-ngumc-clergy-10050074 North Georgia Conference clergy received a fraudulent email that appears to be from the North ... 11/24/2017 Lawrence Moves into New Role at Conference Office http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lawrence-moves-to-new-role-at-conference-office-10008764 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/lawrence-moves-to-new-role-at-conference-office-10008764 The North Georgia Conference is pleased to announce that this fall Rev. Dr. Tonya Lawrence ... 11/21/2017 United Methodist Center to Begin Weekly Worship in December http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-center-to-begin-weekly-worship-9887842 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-center-to-begin-weekly-worship-9887842 Beginning December 6, the staff United Methodist Center will gather for Weekly Worship on ... 11/20/2017 'Part-time' Doesn’t Have to be Only 'Part of the Time' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/part-time-doesn-t-have-to-be-only-part-of-the-time-9985031 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/part-time-doesn-t-have-to-be-only-part-of-the-time-9985031 By Rebecca Wallace When Rev. Dr. Theophilus Stanford got the call, he was at a church he had been ... 11/16/2017 Bishop Sue Welcomes Input on District Superintendent Selection http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-welcomes-input-on-district-superintendent-selection-9985048 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-welcomes-input-on-district-superintendent-selection-9985048 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson invites Conference laity and clergy to submit names of individuals they ... 11/16/2017 Disaster Response Coordinators Pray, Cheer as Relief Supplies Ship to Puerto Rico http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/at-work-in-prayer-disaster-response-coordinators-gather-in-louisiana-9985360 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/at-work-in-prayer-disaster-response-coordinators-gather-in-louisiana-9985360 Praying over UMCOR relief supplies bound for Puerto Rico From Rev. Scott Parrish UMCOR staff, ... 11/16/2017 Taking Christmas Spirit on the Road With 'The True Meaning of Christmas Tour' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/taking-christmas-spirit-on-the-road-with-the-true-meaning-of-christmas-tour-9966334 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/taking-christmas-spirit-on-the-road-with-the-true-meaning-of-christmas-tour-9966334 Tour to Stop in North Georgia Friday, December 22 Sixteen states, 21 cities, 23 days, 500+ ... 11/14/2017 GCFA Legal Team Offers Guidance on Clergy Discretionary Funds http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-legal-team-offers-guidance-on-clergy-discretionary-funds-9965894 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/gcfa-legal-team-offers-guidance-on-clergy-discretionary-funds-9965894 It is common for a local church to establish a fund which is intended to give its pastor complete ... 11/13/2017 Giving for Hurricane Relief Nears $700k from North Georgia United Methodists http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/giving-for-hurricane-relief-9964898 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/giving-for-hurricane-relief-9964898 North Georgia United Methodists have shown an abundance of generosity in response to this fall's ... 11/13/2017 Open Enrollment Closes November 16 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/open-enrollment-closes-november-16-9964851 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/open-enrollment-closes-november-16-9964851 HealthFlex participants, you'll want to make the best choice for your health insurance for the ... 11/13/2017 Action Ministries Sunday Set for December 3 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-sunday-set-for-december-3-9929002 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/action-ministries-sunday-set-for-december-3-9929002 Churches across the North Georgia Conference will celebrate and support the work of Action ... 11/9/2017 Ariel Bowen Memorial UMC Receives Phoenix Award http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ariel-bowen-memorial-umc-receives-phoenix-award-9929041 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ariel-bowen-memorial-umc-receives-phoenix-award-9929041 Ariel Bowen Memorial UMC in Atlanta received a surprise visit from Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed on ... 11/9/2017 Mission, Unity, Space, Contextuality: Bishops Hear Interim Report on Way Forward’s Work http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/mission-unity-space-contextuality-bishops-hear-interim-report-on-way-forward-9929425 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/mission-unity-space-contextuality-bishops-hear-interim-report-on-way-forward-9929425 ​Photo: All bishops pray for the bishops serving on the Commission on a Way Forward Following is a... 11/9/2017 Murriel, Strawn Preach and Teach at National Exploration Event for Young Adults http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/murriel-strawn-preach-and-teach-at-exploration-9929240 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/murriel-strawn-preach-and-teach-at-exploration-9929240 A passionate group of approximately 300 young adults from across The United Methodist connection ... 11/9/2017 Prepared for Emergency: Resources for Churches http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/preparedness-resources-for-emergency-9928815 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/preparedness-resources-for-emergency-9928815 After the terrible tragedy in Texas last week, many of our churches are considering how they can ... 11/9/2017 You're Invited: United Methodist Center Christmas Open House http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/youre-invited-united-methodist-center-christmas-open-house-9910151 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/youre-invited-united-methodist-center-christmas-open-house-9910151 North Georgia United Methodists and friends are invited to a Christmas Open House at the United ... 11/8/2017 Atlanta-College Park and Atlanta-Emory District Offices Move to Shared Space http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/atlanta-college-park-and-atlanta-emory-district-offices-share-space-9887705 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/atlanta-college-park-and-atlanta-emory-district-offices-share-space-9887705 Last month the Atlanta-College Park and Atlanta-Emory District Offices moved to a new shared office ... 11/2/2017 Commission on a Way Forward Drafts Interim Report to Bishops http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-drafts-interim-report-to-bishops-9887935 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-drafts-interim-report-to-bishops-9887935 During its most recent meeting in Nashville, Tenn., members of the 32-member Commission on Way ... 11/2/2017 Golden Memorial’s Rev. Williams Attributes Growth to a 'Wonderful Team' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/golden-memorial-attributes-growth-to-wonderful-team-9887900 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/golden-memorial-attributes-growth-to-wonderful-team-9887900 By Rebecca Wallace Golden Memorial UMC in Douglasville is one of the fastest growing United ... 11/2/2017 Meet The 2018 Heroes, Saints & Legends Honorees http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-the-2018-heroes-saints-legends-honorees-9887733 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-the-2018-heroes-saints-legends-honorees-9887733 Drs. Joseph E. & Evelyn Lowery, Edward J. “Jack” Hardin & Merritt Steed Bond to be Honored at the ... 11/2/2017 HealthFlex Participants: Meet Alex, Your Online Benefits Counselor http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-participants-online-benefits-counselor-available-9768778 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-participants-online-benefits-counselor-available-9768778 HealthFlex Participants are encouraged to use ALEX, an online "Benefits Counselor" provided by ... 10/25/2017 Save The Date for 2018 Conference Children's Ministry Events http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-for-2018-conference-childrens-ministry-events-9747943 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-for-2018-conference-childrens-ministry-events-9747943 Children's Ministry teams often plan ahead for special events for the children in their ministries. ... 10/19/2017 United Methodist Children's Home Moves to New Offices http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-moves-to-new-offices-9749268 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-childrens-home-moves-to-new-offices-9749268 Welcome home to The United Methodist Children's Home! The main administrative offices, previously ... 10/19/2017
Page 1 of 49 1 2 3 4 5 ... 49 next