http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 12/6/2021 8:22:20 AM Bishop Announces Mid-Year Moves, New Director of Community Discipleship and Development Role http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-mid-year-moves-15787165 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-mid-year-moves-15787165 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the North Georgia Conference Appointive Cabinet announce mid-year ... 12/5/2021 BEAT Team Wraps Up 2021 Work, Launches Dashboard http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/beat-team-wraps-up-2021-work-launches-dashboard-15781896 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/beat-team-wraps-up-2021-work-launches-dashboard-15781896 The Barnes Evaluation and Administration Team has wrapped up its work for 2021 having invested ... 12/2/2021 BSA Bankruptcy Update: Action Needed http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bsa-bankruptcy-update-action-needed-15788207 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bsa-bankruptcy-update-action-needed-15788207 In October of 2020, local churches that charter Boy Scout programs, even if the programs aren’t ... 12/2/2021 Care, Compassion, Consistency: Ben Hill UMC Food Bank Celebrates 45 Years of Ministry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/care-compassion-consistency-ben-hill-umc-food-bank-celebrates-45-years-of-ministry-15785283 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/care-compassion-consistency-ben-hill-umc-food-bank-celebrates-45-years-of-ministry-15785283 The Food Bank at Ben Hill UMC in Atlanta has been a ministry of the church for more than 45 years. ... 12/2/2021 Congregations Encouraged to Vote No on BSA Bankruptcy Plan http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/congregations-encouraged-to-vote-no-on-bsa-bankruptcy-plan-15786022 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/congregations-encouraged-to-vote-no-on-bsa-bankruptcy-plan-15786022 A United Methodist Ad Hoc Committee is encouraging congregations to vote against a proposed Boy ... 12/2/2021 Commission Considers Status of Postponed General Conference http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-considers-status-of-postponed-general-conference-15779870 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-considers-status-of-postponed-general-conference-15779870 Key Points Organizers expect to decide early next year whether General Conference can go forward as... 11/30/2021 Connect With Hope and Joy: Advent Advertising Campaign http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/connect-with-joy-umc-advertising-campaign-15776900 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/connect-with-joy-umc-advertising-campaign-15776900 Look out for social media, digital, and print advertisements inviting neighbors to connect with hope... 11/23/2021 North Georgia United Methodists Invited to Give Big on Giving Tuesday http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/giving-tuesday-2021-15777876 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/giving-tuesday-2021-15777876 Giving Tuesday has become one of the largest fundraising efforts of the year! As you plan your ... 11/23/2021 Council of Bishops Shares A Narrative for The Continuing United Methodist Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/council-of-bishops-shares-a-narrative-for-the-continuing-united-methodist-church-15772781 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/council-of-bishops-shares-a-narrative-for-the-continuing-united-methodist-church-15772781 "...We must be one people, rooted in scripture, centered in Christ, serving in love, and united in ... 11/18/2021 'O Holy Night' Life-Sized Paper Mache Sculptures on Display http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/o-holy-night-life-sized-paper-mache-sculptures-on-display-15769596 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/o-holy-night-life-sized-paper-mache-sculptures-on-display-15769596 Life-sized paper mache and metal sculptures depicting the nativity scene, complete with camels and ... 11/17/2021 Not Just a Pillow, A Bless-ed Pillow http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/not-just-a-pillow-a-bless-ed-pillow-15770527 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/not-just-a-pillow-a-bless-ed-pillow-15770527 Bless-ed Pillow Sunday at Tucker First UMC By Katherine Griffith   For more than ten years, the ... 11/17/2021 BSA Bankruptcy Update: November 30, 2021 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bsa-bankruptcy-update-november-12-2011-15762878 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bsa-bankruptcy-update-november-12-2011-15762878 November 30, 2021 Update After months of mediation to achieve a settlement in the BSA bankruptcy and... 11/12/2021 UMCOR Offers $1k Reimbursement Grant to Congregations for Afghan Resettlement Efforts http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-offers-1k-grant-to-congregations-for-afghan-resettlement-efforts-15761584 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-offers-1k-grant-to-congregations-for-afghan-resettlement-efforts-15761584 Following the fall of Kabul, an estimated 75,000 Afghans are arriving in the United States to ... 11/11/2021 ACE Talks: Catching Up With the 'Walking Women of the World' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ace-talks-checking-in-with-the-walking-women-15745893 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ace-talks-checking-in-with-the-walking-women-15745893 The Walking Women of the World ACE2 group launched in 2018. These clergy colleagues were ... 11/4/2021 HealthFlex Annual Election: November 3-18 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-annual-election-november-3-18-15743789 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/healthflex-annual-election-november-3-18-15743789 Annual election season for HealthFlex participants will take place from November 3-18 and provide ... 11/3/2021 Visio Divina: The Beauty of the Stained Glass Windows of Snellville UMC http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/visio-divina-the-beauty-of-the-stained-glass-windows-of-snellville-umc-15612814 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/visio-divina-the-beauty-of-the-stained-glass-windows-of-snellville-umc-15612814   Rev. Tracy Rollins Sever, Associate Pastor of Snellville UMC, is leading church members in a new ... 10/20/2021 Bishop Advocates on Behalf of Families Impacted by Wellstar Insurance Impasse http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-advocates-on-behalf-of-families-impacted-by-wellstar-insurance-impasse-15590940 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-advocates-on-behalf-of-families-impacted-by-wellstar-insurance-impasse-15590940 In a letter to the Senior Vice President of Wellstar, Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson voiced her concerns... 10/15/2021 UMC Leaders Share Important Information for Churches Sponsoring Scout Troops http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-leaders-share-important-information-for-churches-sponsoring-scout-troops-15587075 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-leaders-share-important-information-for-churches-sponsoring-scout-troops-15587075 United Methodist churches that have sponsored Boy Scout troops can expect to receive a “disclosure ... 10/12/2021 ACE to Launch New Groups in 2022 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ace-to-launch-new-groups-in-2022-15517635 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ace-to-launch-new-groups-in-2022-15517635 By Rev. Leigh Martin, Conference ACE2 Coordinator   The Academy for Clergy Excellence will be ... 10/7/2021 Ministry Partner 'Vanco Faith' Offers Programs for Local Churches http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ministry-partner-vanco-faith-offers-programs-for-local-churches-15516249 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ministry-partner-vanco-faith-offers-programs-for-local-churches-15516249 The General Council on Finance and Administration (GCFA) Connectional and External Relations teams ... 10/7/2021 Hope and Help: ERTs from North Georgia Serve in Louisiana http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/erts-from-north-georgia-serve-in-louisiana-15481008 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/erts-from-north-georgia-serve-in-louisiana-15481008 Louisiana Conference Disaster Response Coordinator, Bob Deich, at Golden Meadow UMC. Trained Early ... 10/5/2021 October is Clergy Appreciation Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/october-is-clergy-appreciation-month-15480164 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/october-is-clergy-appreciation-month-15480164 October is Clergy Appreciation Month. It is a time to say “thank you” to the people who may be most ... 10/4/2021 Wellstar Hospitals Out of Network for United Healthcare http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wellstar-hospitals-out-of-network-for-united-healthcare-15480687 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wellstar-hospitals-out-of-network-for-united-healthcare-15480687 Wespath has shared with the North Georgia Conference that after multiple attempts at negotiation, ... 10/4/2021 Steve Napier Named Executive Director of Habitat for Humanity North Central Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/steve-napier-named-executive-director-of-habitat-for-humanity-north-central-georgia-15476967 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/steve-napier-named-executive-director-of-habitat-for-humanity-north-central-georgia-15476967 Leaders of Habitat for Humanity - North Central Georgia have named Rev. Steve Napier, a deacon in ... 9/30/2021 Best Day Ever: East Cobb UMC Provides Books for First and Second Grade Students http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/east-cobb-umc-15472295 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/east-cobb-umc-15472295 Thanks to the partnership between East Cobb UMC and Powers Ferry Elementary, every first and second ... 9/29/2021 Leading Edge Learning Series Welcomes Mark DeYmaz http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/leading-edge-learning-series-welcomes-mark-deymaz-15472534 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/leading-edge-learning-series-welcomes-mark-deymaz-15472534 The North Georgia Conference Center for Congregational Excellence continued its 4-part Leading Edge ... 9/28/2021 3 Tips for Mission Insite http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/3-tips-for-mission-insite-15430989 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/3-tips-for-mission-insite-15430989 MissionInsite is a demographics program that provides churches with instant access to community ... 9/16/2021 Elizabeth Lee UMC: Everybody Has a Place at the Table at 'Matthew’s House' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/elizabeth-lee-umc-15431356 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/elizabeth-lee-umc-15431356 By Rev. Zach Fitzpatrick "​Matthew's House" and surrounding property on the newly expanded campus ... 9/16/2021 Due West UMC Prepares to Welcome Afghan Refugees to Metro Atlanta http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/due-west-umc-prepares-to-welcome-afghan-refugees-to-metro-atlanta-15422619 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/due-west-umc-prepares-to-welcome-afghan-refugees-to-metro-atlanta-15422619 By Sybil Davidson Due West UMC in Marietta is setting the table to welcome 70 Afghan refugees to ... 9/8/2021 North Georgia Academy for Leadership & Innovation Launching This Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/academy-for-leadership-innovation-launching-this-month-15411846 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/academy-for-leadership-innovation-launching-this-month-15411846 Starting and Sustaining New Faith Communities Forming New Places to Reach New People for New Life ... 9/8/2021 Update from the Conference Board of Trustees http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-the-conference-board-of-trustees-15412752 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-the-conference-board-of-trustees-15412752 Attorneys for the Board of Trustees of the North Georgia Conference of The United Methodist Church ... 9/8/2021 Leading Edge Learning Series Continues with Mark DeYmaz http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/leading-edge-learning-series-continues-with-mark-deymaz-15408257 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/leading-edge-learning-series-continues-with-mark-deymaz-15408257 Building Healthy Multi-Ethnic and Entrepreneurial Congregations The Leading Edge Learning Series ... 9/7/2021 Complaints Against Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson Formally Dismissed http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/complaints-against-bishop-sue-haupert-johnson-formally-dismissed-15401952 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/complaints-against-bishop-sue-haupert-johnson-formally-dismissed-15401952 Dear North Georgia United Methodists, Due to the unusual public attention drawn to complaints ... 9/3/2021 Hurricane Ida Update: Wait, Pray, Give, and Prepare http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hurricane-ida-update-15401385 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hurricane-ida-update-15401385 Rev. Scott Parrish, Conference Disaster Response Coordinator, shares the following update on ... 8/29/2021 Board of Trustees Offers Update on Mediation http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/board-of-trustees-offers-update-on-mediation-15401349 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/board-of-trustees-offers-update-on-mediation-15401349 On Saturday, August 28, 2021, The Trustees of the North Georgia Conference of The United Methodist ... 8/28/2021 BSA Bankruptcy Affects United Methodist Congregations http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bsa-bankruptcy-affects-united-methodist-congregations-15395554 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bsa-bankruptcy-affects-united-methodist-congregations-15395554 The United Methodist Church released the following update on the BSA Bankruptcy case and the ... 8/27/2021 COVID Update: August 2021 Message from Bishop and Cabinet http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/covid-guidance-august-2021-message-from-bishop-and-cabinet-15391229 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/covid-guidance-august-2021-message-from-bishop-and-cabinet-15391229 "Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, just as it is ... 8/26/2021 Prayer and Giving: UMCOR Supports Afghans in Need http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/prayer-and-giving-umcor-supports-afghans-in-need-15385138 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/prayer-and-giving-umcor-supports-afghans-in-need-15385138 For more than 40 years Afghanistan has been wracked by war, civil strife, invasion, and massive ... 8/25/2021 SEJ College of Bishops Appoints Brady as SEJ Conference Secretary http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sej-college-of-bishops-appoints-brady-as-sej-conference-secretary-15369150 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sej-college-of-bishops-appoints-brady-as-sej-conference-secretary-15369150 Assigning leadership roles was among the top agenda items for the August 19 virtual meeting of the ... 8/20/2021 Meet Juan Quintanilla: Consultant for Hispanic Ministry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-juan-quintanilla-consultant-for-hispanic-ministry-15368730 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-juan-quintanilla-consultant-for-hispanic-ministry-15368730 Rev. Dr. Juan Quintanilla Consultant for Hispanic Ministry, Center for Congregational Excellence   ... 8/19/2021 Pleasant Grove UMC Turns 2020 Surplus of Funds into 2021 'Mercy Drops' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/pleasant-grove-umc-turns-surplus-of-funds-into-mercy-drops-15365945 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/pleasant-grove-umc-turns-surplus-of-funds-into-mercy-drops-15365945 Rev. Chris Mullis shares about Operation Mercy Drops in a video found at https://youtu.be/FbjNnPuIBr... 8/19/2021 Prayer and Giving: Responding to Earthquake in Haiti http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/prayer-and-giving-responding-to-earthquake-in-haiti-15363225 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/prayer-and-giving-responding-to-earthquake-in-haiti-15363225 Please join us in praying for the people of Haiti after a 7.2 magnitude earthquake struck the ... 8/15/2021 Fraud Alert: Phishing Scam Targets United Methodists (Again) http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fraud-alert-phishing-scam-targets-united-methodists-15184104 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/fraud-alert-phishing-scam-targets-united-methodists-15184104 We have heard from a number of North Georgia Conference clergy whose congregations have been the ... 8/13/2021 Five Simple Steps For Creating A Social Media Strategy For Moving Pastors http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/five-simple-steps-for-creating-a-social-media-strategy-for-moving-pastors-15356869 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/five-simple-steps-for-creating-a-social-media-strategy-for-moving-pastors-15356869 By Rev. Jessica Blackwood The moving truck is long gone, and you are probably unpacking the last of ... 8/12/2021 Meet the Children's Ministry Team: Kim, DeDe, and Mimi http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-the-childrens-ministry-team-kim-dede-and-mimi-15357806 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-the-childrens-ministry-team-kim-dede-and-mimi-15357806 (Photo: DeDe Reilly) The North Georgia Conference Center for Congregational Excellence exists to ... 8/12/2021 Meet Scott Parrish: Mission and Disaster Response Specialist http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-scott-parrish-mission-and-disaster-response-specialist-15326609 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-scott-parrish-mission-and-disaster-response-specialist-15326609 Scott Parrish Mission and Disaster Response Specialist, Center for Congregational Excellence The ... 8/5/2021 Leading Edge Learning Series Welcomes Tod Bolsinger http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/leading-edge-learning-series-hosts-tod-bolsinger-15325698 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/leading-edge-learning-series-hosts-tod-bolsinger-15325698 “The primary way to prepare for the unknown is to attend to the quality of our relationships, to how... 8/4/2021 Laity E-Newsletter Launching this Month http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/laity-e-newsletter-launching-this-month-15322262 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/laity-e-newsletter-launching-this-month-15322262 'I believe in our church and in its mission ⁠to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the ... 8/2/2021 Meet Jessica Blackwood: Digital Ministry Specialist http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-jessica-blackwood-digital-ministry-specialist-15320381 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-jessica-blackwood-digital-ministry-specialist-15320381 Jessica Blackwood Digital Ministry Specialist, Center for Congregational Excellence The North ... 7/29/2021 Monitor Your Local Situation: Some Georgia Counties Return to 'Red' and 'Orange' COVID Levels http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/georgia-counties-return-to-red-and-orange-covid-levels-15315204 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/georgia-counties-return-to-red-and-orange-covid-levels-15315204   In recent days, a number of counties in our state have seen increases in COVID-19 cases, ... 7/29/2021
Page 1 of 61 1 2 3 4 5 ... 61 next