http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 7/9/2020 4:45:20 AM Douglasville First UMC Shows How to Love Your Neighbor (And Their Neighbor is a Hospital) http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/douglasville-first-umc-shows-how-to-love-your-neighbor-when-your-neighbor-is-a-hospital-13626666 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/douglasville-first-umc-shows-how-to-love-your-neighbor-when-your-neighbor-is-a-hospital-13626666 By Rev. Tamlyn Collins Members of Douglasville First UMC have long been investing in our WellStar ... 4/23/2020 Leading in the Wilderness: Four Part Series for Clergy and Church Leadership http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/coming-soon-four-part-training-13624154 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/coming-soon-four-part-training-13624154 With the current pandemic, pastors and church leaders find ourselves doing ministry in uncharted ... 4/22/2020 Bishop, Cabinet Urge Churches to Remain Closed Through May 13 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-cabinet-urge-churches-to-remain-closed-through-may-13-13622591 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-cabinet-urge-churches-to-remain-closed-through-may-13-13622591 Editor's Note: The bishop and cabinet have updated the guidance. Read more at https://www.ngumc.org/... 4/20/2020 Annual Conference 2020 is Rescheduled for August http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-2020-is-rescheduled-for-august-28-30-13622108 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-2020-is-rescheduled-for-august-28-30-13622108 The 2020 North Georgia Annual Conference Session, originally scheduled for June 18-20 at The Classic... 4/19/2020 Bishop Announces Full-Time Appointment Changes http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-full-time-appointment-changes-13622126 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-full-time-appointment-changes-13622126 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced projected full-time appointment changes for 2020-2021. ... 4/19/2020 Cokesbury Resources Plus Creative Ministry Ideas for Faith Formation http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/cokesbury-13621457 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/cokesbury-13621457 By Mindy Apple Cokesbury Community Resource Consultant for the North Georgia Conference In the ... 4/16/2020 Holy Mischief: Seeing the Holy Spirit at Work http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-mischief-seeing-the-holy-spirit-at-work-13621425 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-mischief-seeing-the-holy-spirit-at-work-13621425 By Rev. Shannon Karafanda When I'm asked what I do, I tell people I am a renegade Executive Pastor ... 4/16/2020 UMCOR Awards Solidarity Grant to the North Georgia Conference for Easter Storm Relief http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-awards-solidarity-grant-to-the-north-georgia-conference-for-easter-storm-relief-13618779 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcor-awards-solidarity-grant-to-the-north-georgia-conference-for-easter-storm-relief-13618779 Storm damage in the Chatsworth area. Photo by Rev. Lathem Postell. UMCOR has awarded a solidarity ... 4/14/2020 Praying: Tragic Easter Sunday Storms Take Lives, Damage Communities http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/overnight-storms-cause-damage-13616294 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/overnight-storms-cause-damage-13616294 Updated April 14 As we continue to learn about damage from the devastating storms across Georgia ... 4/13/2020 Emory Board of Trustees Names Gregory L. Fenves as 21st President http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/emory-board-of-trustees-names-gregory-l-fenves-as-21st-president-13615802 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/emory-board-of-trustees-names-gregory-l-fenves-as-21st-president-13615802 The Emory University Board of Trustees announced this week that Gregory L. Fenves, president of The ... 4/9/2020 Imani 'Faith' Kiborione Empowerment Group, Kenya, Begins 3-Year Program http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/imani-faith-kiborione-empowerment-group-13615817 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/imani-faith-kiborione-empowerment-group-13615817 In January, 35 groups encompassing nearly 3,500 children were formed in Kenya to take part in the ... 4/9/2020 SEJ Conference Postponed, New Date in 2021 Forthcoming http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sej-conference-postponed-new-date-in-2021-forthcoming-13614657 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sej-conference-postponed-new-date-in-2021-forthcoming-13614657 The 2020 Southeastern Jurisdictional Conference, along with all U.S. Jurisdictional Conferences, has... 4/7/2020 Inspiring Ideas: How United Methodists Are Being The Church in Their Communities http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/inspiring-ideas-united-methodists-are-being-the-church-13541409 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/inspiring-ideas-united-methodists-are-being-the-church-13541409 We have been encouraged and inspired by the creative ministry ideas of churches across the North ... 4/1/2020 The CARES Act Includes Provisions for Non-Profits and Churches http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/the-cares-act-13539438 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/the-cares-act-13539438 Editor's Note: Updated information on the CARES ACT and PPP can be found at https://www.ngumc.org/c... 4/1/2020 Video Resources for Easter Worship Available Next Week http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-resources-for-easter-worship-available-next-week-13541724 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-resources-for-easter-worship-available-next-week-13541724 The North Georgia Conference is proud of the creativity, humility, and witness of United Methodist ... 4/1/2020 Low Tech Tips for Keeping Your Congregation Connected http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/low-tech-tips-for-keeping-your-congregation-connected-13539459 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/low-tech-tips-for-keeping-your-congregation-connected-13539459 Some of the most meaningful ways congregations can stay connected in this season of social ... 3/31/2020 WesPath Offers Preliminary Summary of the CARES Act for Local Churches http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wespath-offers-cares-act-summary-for-local-churches-13540837 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wespath-offers-cares-act-summary-for-local-churches-13540837 The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (H.R. 748) ("CARES" or "Act") is an ... 3/31/2020 Bishop and Cabinet Ask That Church Buildings and Property Remain Closed Through April 30 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-and-cabinet-ask-that-church-buildings-and-property-remain-closed-through-april-30-13539932 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-and-cabinet-ask-that-church-buildings-and-property-remain-closed-through-april-30-13539932 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the North Georgia Conference Cabinet are grateful to clergy and ... 3/30/2020 Copyright Information from the United Methodist Publishing House http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/copyright-information-from-the-united-methodist-publishing-house-13539623 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/copyright-information-from-the-united-methodist-publishing-house-13539623 The United Methodist Publishing House shares the following message on copyright: Questions have ... 3/30/2020 The Rev. Joseph Lowery: A Pillar of The Faith http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/the-rev-dr-joseph-lowery-was-a-pillar-of-the-faith-13539330 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/the-rev-dr-joseph-lowery-was-a-pillar-of-the-faith-13539330 Photo courtesy of United Methodist News Service The Rev. Joseph Lowery, civil rights icon and ... 3/28/2020 Conference Disaster Response, Local Churches Deploy N95 Masks http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-deploys-n95-masks-from-warehouse-13536879 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-deploys-n95-masks-from-warehouse-13536879 Disaster Response ministries across our Conference stand ready to serve in times of need, and this ... 3/24/2020 North Georgia Conference Churches Offer Online Worship http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/online-worship-13441841 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/online-worship-13441841 A number of North Georgia Conference churches are offering an online worship experience either by ... 3/24/2020 Church Holds 'Drive-in Worship' in Response to COVID-19 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-holds-drive-in-worship-in-response-to-covid-19-13535337 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-holds-drive-in-worship-in-response-to-covid-19-13535337 Several creative United Methodist Churches in North Georgia have held drive-in worship. It's one way... 3/23/2020 Wespath Offers Preliminary Summary of 'Families First Coronavirus Response Act' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wespath-offers-preliminary-summary-of-families-first-coronavirus-response-act-13535206 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wespath-offers-preliminary-summary-of-families-first-coronavirus-response-act-13535206 The following summary was compiled and shared on March 23 by Wespath. Find additional information ... 3/23/2020 Conference Board of Pension to Cover Church Portion of Healthflex Insurance Premiums for Next Three Months http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-board-of-pension-to-cover-church-portion-of-healthflex-insurance-premiums-for-next-three-months-13534683 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-board-of-pension-to-cover-church-portion-of-healthflex-insurance-premiums-for-next-three-months-13534683 Beginning April 1, for a period of three months, the North Georgia Conference Board of Pension will ... 3/20/2020 General Conference 2020 Postponed http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/general-conference-2020-postponed-13533905 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/general-conference-2020-postponed-13533905 The Executive Committee of the Commission on the General Conference has been notified by the ... 3/19/2020 Vanco Offers Online Giving Solutions http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/vanco-offers-online-giving-solutions-13534109 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/vanco-offers-online-giving-solutions-13534109 Vanco, a partner of the UMC's General Council on Finance and Administration, currently serves ... 3/19/2020 Conference CFA Meets to Develop 2021 Budget http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-cfa-meets-to-develop-2021-conference-budget-13533823 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-cfa-meets-to-develop-2021-conference-budget-13533823 This week the North Georgia Conference Council on Finance and Administration (CFA) met via online ... 3/18/2020 Open Letter to North Georgia United Methodists from Rev. Chris and Dr. Jennifer Barbieri http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/open-letter-to-ngumc-13531729 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/open-letter-to-ngumc-13531729 Friends in Christ, I encourage you to read the following letter from Rev. Chris and Dr. Jennifer ... 3/18/2020 Ready to Try Online Worship: Tips From a First-Timer http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/online-worship-tips-13526595 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/online-worship-tips-13526595 By Rev. Sam Dawkins For friends who are thinking about putting a service online next week, but it ... 3/16/2020 Bishop Strongly Urges Cancellation of Worship Services http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-regarding-worship-services-13441842 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-regarding-worship-services-13441842 Dear North Georgia Conference Clergy and Church Members,   As we receive information regarding the ... 3/13/2020 Talking to Kids About Coronavirus http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/talking-to-kids-about-coronavirus-13441952 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/talking-to-kids-about-coronavirus-13441952 (Image: BrainPOP) Our Conference children's ministry team shares these helpful resources for ... 3/13/2020 10 Ideas for Church Financial Leaders Amid the COVID-19 Crisis http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/10-ideas-for-church-financial-leaders-amid-the-covid-19-crisis-13440637 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/10-ideas-for-church-financial-leaders-amid-the-covid-19-crisis-13440637 BY KEN SLOANE (Discipleship Ministries) Numerous good resources are available for churches about how... 3/12/2020 Conference Staff to Work Remotely http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-staff-to-work-remotely-13441374 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-staff-to-work-remotely-13441374 North Georgia Conference staff will primarily work remotely beginning March 12. As always, staff are... 3/12/2020 NGUMC Church Leaders: 4 Considerations Regarding Coronavirus http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ngumc-church-leaders-4-considerations-regarding-coronavirus-13437131 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ngumc-church-leaders-4-considerations-regarding-coronavirus-13437131 Church leaders, As shepherds, I know you are carefully monitoring the news and local advice ... 3/11/2020 Talking About the Protocol with Rev Tom Berlin http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/talking-about-the-protocol-with-rev-tom-berlin-13440635 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/talking-about-the-protocol-with-rev-tom-berlin-13440635 As a member of the team that worked with mediator Ken Feinberg to produce the Protocol on ... 3/10/2020 Clark Atlanta University's Radio Station is Top in Nation http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clark-atlanta-universitys-radio-station-is-top-in-nation-13427677 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clark-atlanta-universitys-radio-station-is-top-in-nation-13427677 A UMC.org feature by Crystal Caviness Clark Atlanta University’s radio station, WCLK, can add a new... 3/6/2020 Coronovirus: Considerations for Churches http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/coronovirus-13422367 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/coronovirus-13422367 Photo: COVID-19 as viewed under an electron microscope. As new cases are diagnosed, the question of... 3/5/2020 Counseling Available to Clergy Through WesPath http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/counseling-available-to-clergy-through-wespath-13427413 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/counseling-available-to-clergy-through-wespath-13427413 While the role of a clergyperson is crucial and fulfilling, clergy endure a heavy emotional load in ... 3/5/2020 Prayer and Giving: Responding to Tennessee Tornados http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tennessee-tornados-13427436 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tennessee-tornados-13427436 Volunteer Sumant Joshi clears tornado debris in front of East End United Methodist Church in ... 3/5/2020 Bishop Sets Superintendent Assignments http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sets-superintendent-assignments-13423717 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sets-superintendent-assignments-13423717 On Sunday, Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson announced new Conference-level appointments. Today she shares ... 3/4/2020 Capacity Crowd Attends First Town Hall Meeting http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/first-town-hall-meeting-13422005 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/first-town-hall-meeting-13422005 NOTE: The next Town Hall will be Live Streamed on Sunday, March 8, at 2 pm from Peachtree Road UMC's... 3/2/2020 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson Announces Conference-Level Appointments http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-conference-level-appointments-13421582 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-announces-conference-level-appointments-13421582 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson announces the appointment of two new District Superintendents and four ... 3/1/2020 Survey: Your Input Needed as Aldergate/Collinswood Develops Seminar http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/survey-your-input-needed-as-aldergate-collinswood-develops-seminar-13266728 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/survey-your-input-needed-as-aldergate-collinswood-develops-seminar-13266728 Aldergate/Collinswood is asking United Methodists to complete a survey to help as they develop a new... 2/14/2020 Protocol Legislation Released http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/protocol-legislation-released-13266026 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/protocol-legislation-released-13266026 Legislation related to the Protocol of Reconciliation & Grace Through Separation has been released ... 2/13/2020 One in Ministry: Planning for Annual Conference 2020 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-2020-13249537 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/annual-conference-2020-13249537 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the Annual Conference Planning Committee are busy preparing for the ... 2/10/2020 Creation Care: Decatur First UMC to Host Environmental Justice Series http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/creation-care-decatur-first-to-host-environmental-justice-series-13256378 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/creation-care-decatur-first-to-host-environmental-justice-series-13256378 What is a fenceline community? Who lives there? What are their special concerns? Decatur First UMC ... 2/6/2020 Mosley Offers Helpful, Practical 'Upon My Death' Checklist http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/pastor-offers-upon-my-death-checklist-13258906 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/pastor-offers-upon-my-death-checklist-13258906 Rev. Grady Mosley, pastor of Madison First UMC, has written a booklet on planning end-of-life ... 2/6/2020 SEJ Heads of Delegations Affirm Protocol http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sej-heads-of-delegations-affirm-protocol-13249220 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/sej-heads-of-delegations-affirm-protocol-13249220 Photo: Many of the SEJ heads of delegations for the 2020 General Conference gathered in Atlanta in ... 2/3/2020 Scouts and The United Methodist Church Celebrate 100th Anniversary of Shared Ministry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/scouts-and-the-united-methodist-church-celebrate-100th-anniversary-of-shared-ministry-13243304 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/scouts-and-the-united-methodist-church-celebrate-100th-anniversary-of-shared-ministry-13243304 Scout Sunday is of particular importance this year as 2020 marks the 100th anniversary of the formal... 1/30/2020
Page 2 of 57 previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 57 next