http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 10/17/2019 3:18:50 AM Holy Journey: A DS Reflects on Changes and Transitions http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-journey-reflections-on-changes-and-transitions-11258645 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-journey-reflections-on-changes-and-transitions-11258645 In his weekly newsletter to the people of the Atlanta-Marietta District, Superintendent Rev. Terry ... 4/26/2018 Pastor Peer Groups: 'You can’t do this job alone' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/pastor-peer-groups-you-can-t-do-this-job-alone-11258636 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/pastor-peer-groups-you-can-t-do-this-job-alone-11258636 The "Reverend Mommies" peer group with Bishop Sue. By Rebecca Wallace Some pastors say that being ... 4/26/2018 Conference Ministries Align to Form Centers for Excellence http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-ministries-align-to-form-centers-for-excellence-11203356 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/conference-ministries-align-to-form-centers-for-excellence-11203356 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson is pleased to announce that along with new projected clergy appointments,... 4/24/2018 Bishop Names 2018 Special Offering: Ministerial Education Fund http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-names-2018-special-offering-ministerial-education-fund-11203266 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-names-2018-special-offering-ministerial-education-fund-11203266 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has named the Ministerial Education Fund as the 2018 Annual Conference ... 4/23/2018 Let’s Talk Tech: How Churches are Using Technology in Ministry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/let-s-talk-tech-how-churches-are-using-technology-in-ministry-11198274 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/let-s-talk-tech-how-churches-are-using-technology-in-ministry-11198274 By Rachel Quartarone   In today’s hectic world, it’s difficult to get a large group of people into ... 4/19/2018 Video: Snellville UMC Ministry Transforms Bridal Gowns Into 'Angel Gowns' for Infant Burials. http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-11198291 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/video-11198291 “When I’m sewing these projects, I’m praying. I’m sending up prayers to our Lord about the parents ... 4/19/2018 Wesley Woods Offering Resources Now Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-woods-offering-resources-now-available-11198283 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-woods-offering-resources-now-available-11198283 Carolyn and Joan are two Wesley Woods residents who directly benefit from this special offering. As... 4/19/2018 Young Clergy Academy Offers Internship for Young Adults Exploring a Call to Ordained Ministry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-clergy-academy-offers-internship-for-young-adults-exploring-a-call-to-ordained-ministry-11197114 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/young-clergy-academy-offers-internship-for-young-adults-exploring-a-call-to-ordained-ministry-11197114 Young adults (age 18-28) exploring a call to ordained ministry have a unique opportunity ahead. The... 4/18/2018 UMCom Grants Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcom-grants-available-11155531 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umcom-grants-available-11155531 United Methodist Communications grant applications are now open in two categories: New Church Starts... 4/12/2018 Volunteer Marshals and Pages Sought for 2019 Special Session of the General Conference http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/volunteer-marshals-and-pages-sought-for-2019-general-conference-11155533 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/volunteer-marshals-and-pages-sought-for-2019-general-conference-11155533 Nashville, Tenn.: Beginning April 4, 2018, volunteers will be able to apply online to serve as ... 4/12/2018 Bishop Sue to Host Scout Lunch http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-to-host-scout-lunch-11129046 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-to-host-scout-lunch-11129046 On April 28, Bishop Sue will host a Bishop’s Scout Lunch at Peachtree Road UMC and is inviting ... 4/4/2018 Content of Character: A Letter to Dr. King http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/content-of-character-a-letter-to-dr-king-11129044 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/content-of-character-a-letter-to-dr-king-11129044 The Rev. Dr. Tonya N. Lawrence shared the following letter on the 50th anniversary of the ... 4/4/2018 United Methodist Connectional FCU Opens Application for 2018 Annual College Scholarships http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-connectional-fcu-opens-application-for-scholarships-11129047 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-connectional-fcu-opens-application-for-scholarships-11129047 Are you or do you know a member age 17-35 who is attending or planning to attend college and attend ... 4/4/2018 ERT Teams Needed in North Alabama http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ert-teams-needed-in-north-alabama-11122724 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ert-teams-needed-in-north-alabama-11122724 Updated March 28 North Georgia ERTs (Early Response Teams) are requested as soon as possible to ... 3/28/2018 Helping to Fill Big Roles http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/helping-to-fill-big-roles-11126265 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/helping-to-fill-big-roles-11126265 Photo: Rev. Sam Halverson with a group of youth ministers gathering for YMI: Youth Ministry ... 3/28/2018 Holy Week Message From Bishop Sue http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-week-message-from-bishop-sue-yearning-for-easter-11126528 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/holy-week-message-from-bishop-sue-yearning-for-easter-11126528 I have found that each year I tend to focus on one aspect of Holy Week, usually one reflecting the ... 3/28/2018 Courage for Today: North Georgia United Methodists Take Civil Rights Heritage Tour http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-take-civil-rights-heritage-tour-11121942 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-take-civil-rights-heritage-tour-11121942 By Rev. Alisha L. Gordon Executive for Spiritual Growth, United Methodist Women For 31 years, SCLC ... 3/22/2018 Disaster Response: Monday Night Storm Damage Update http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-monday-night-storm-damage-update-11121955 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/disaster-response-monday-night-storm-damage-update-11121955 Major storms crossed North Georgia Monday night causing damage in several communities including ... 3/22/2018 Global Ministries EarthKeepers Training to be Held in Atlanta in 2018 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/global-ministries-earthkeepers-training-to-be-held-in-atlanta-in-2018-11104146 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/global-ministries-earthkeepers-training-to-be-held-in-atlanta-in-2018-11104146 Global Ministries EarthKeepers Trainings are coming to three US cities in 2018: Atlanta, GA - May ... 3/19/2018 Plans Underway for 2018 Annual Conference http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-underway-for-2018-annual-conference-11013518 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-underway-for-2018-annual-conference-11013518 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the Annual Conference Planning Committee are busy preparing for the ... 3/14/2018 Ken Howle Elected Executive Director of Lake Junaluska http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ken-howle-elected-executive-director-of-lake-junaluska-11083478 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ken-howle-elected-executive-director-of-lake-junaluska-11083478 LAKE JUNALUSKA, N.C. — The Lake Junaluska Board of Trustees has unanimously elected Ken Howle as the... 3/7/2018 Send Me! Where to Help After Completing UMCOR ERT Training http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/send-me-where-to-help-after-umcor-ert-training-11083483 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/send-me-where-to-help-after-umcor-ert-training-11083483 Hundreds of North Georgia United Methodists have gotten certified as UMCOR Emergency Response Team ... 3/7/2018 Commission on a Way Forward Presents Two Draft Sketches to Bishops http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-presents-two-draft-sketches-to-bishops-11047523 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-presents-two-draft-sketches-to-bishops-11047523 The following press release was shared by the Council of Bishops after their February 2018 meeting.... 3/1/2018 North Georgia United Methodists to Depart on Civil Rights Heritage Tour http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-to-depart-on-civil-rights-heritage-tour-11047812 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-to-depart-on-civil-rights-heritage-tour-11047812 Four busloads of North Georgia United Methodists will soon depart on a Civil Rights Heritage Tour. ... 3/1/2018 Tax Reform Eliminates the Moving Expense Deduction http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tax-reform-eliminates-moving-expense-deduction-11047797 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tax-reform-eliminates-moving-expense-deduction-11047797 Please see the update below from our GCFA Legal Services Department The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (the ... 3/1/2018 Biggest Gift In Glisson's History Paves Way To Preserve and Expand Use Of Chapel For Generations To Come http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biggest-gift-in-glissons-history-paves-way-to-preserve-and-expand-use-of-chapel-for-generations-to-come-11013160 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biggest-gift-in-glissons-history-paves-way-to-preserve-and-expand-use-of-chapel-for-generations-to-come-11013160 Camp and Retreat ministries shared an exciting announcement this week. Glisson has received the ... 2/28/2018 Faith, Race and Community: A Tale of Two Congregations http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/faith-race-and-community-a-tale-of-two-congregations-11047088 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/faith-race-and-community-a-tale-of-two-congregations-11047088 By Rachel Quartarone   “We must face the fact that in America, the church is still the most ... 2/28/2018 Townley to Teach us to Make Worship a Bridge to Our Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/learn-to-make-worship-a-bridge-to-your-community-11047109 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/learn-to-make-worship-a-bridge-to-your-community-11047109 United Methodist worship specialist, coach, and author Cathy Townley will visit North Georgia this ... 2/28/2018 NGUMC Leverages the Atlanta Beltline to Show 'Church' Doesn’t Have to be Within Four Walls http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-doesn-t-have-to-be-within-four-walls-11012350 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-doesn-t-have-to-be-within-four-walls-11012350 By Rebecca Wallace Evan McElreath works for the church, but is rarely in one when he is working. ... 2/26/2018 Rome-Carrolton District Event to Feature Ambassador Andrew Young http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rome-carrolton-district-event-features-ambassador-young-11012848 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rome-carrolton-district-event-features-ambassador-young-11012848 The Rome-Carrollton District of The United Methodist Church will host Ambassador Andrew Young as ... 2/26/2018 Clergy Are Invited to 'Take a Break for Mission' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-are-invited-to-take-a-break-for-mission-11009223 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-are-invited-to-take-a-break-for-mission-11009223 The responsibilities and requirements of pastoral ministry in the local church are many and they are... 2/20/2018 More Than Building Homes: Update from Our Partners in Lumberton, NC http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-our-partners-in-lumberton-11009430 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-our-partners-in-lumberton-11009430 (Photo collage courtesy of Wesley UMC, Augusta)  We checked in with our partners in Lumberton, NC, ... 2/20/2018 United Methodist Academy of Scouting Training Day Set for April 14 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-academy-of-scouting-training-day-set-for-april-14-11008511 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-academy-of-scouting-training-day-set-for-april-14-11008511 United Methodist Academy of Scouting will return to North Georgia April 14. Scout leaders, scout ... 2/19/2018 Message From Bishop Sue: Invitation to Join in Florida Conference Suggestions for Action http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-join-in-florida-conference-suggestions-for-action-11008209 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-join-in-florida-conference-suggestions-for-action-11008209 I invite the churches of the North Georgia Annual Conference to join the Florida Annual Conference ... 2/17/2018 Fresh Expressions Grants Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/freshexpressions-grants-available-11006432 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/freshexpressions-grants-available-11006432 Interested in starting a Fresh Expression? The Office of Congregational Development has matching ... 2/15/2018 Message from Bishop Ken Carter Following Shooting at Florida School http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-ken-carter-on-florida-school-shootings-11005910 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-ken-carter-on-florida-school-shootings-11005910 Bishop Ken Carter of Florida shared the message below with his Annual Conference following a ... 2/15/2018 Clergy and Flu Season: Keeping Well http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-and-flu-season-keeping-well-10963664 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-and-flu-season-keeping-well-10963664 Flu season or no flu season, North Georgia Conference clergy are in and out of hospitals visiting ... 2/8/2018 Georgia Tech Wesley Foundation Hosts Campus 'Potato Drop' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-hosts-campus-potato-drop-10962336 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-hosts-campus-potato-drop-10962336 Campus ministry, plus a Connectional Ministries grant, plus a local church partner equals 25,000 ... 2/8/2018 Meet Aldo: A Young Adult DACA Recipient Shares His Story http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-aldo-10962338 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-aldo-10962338 Recently Aldo, a young adult who is a recipient of DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals), ... 2/8/2018 Message from Bishop Sue on Caring for DACA Recepients http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-neighbors-10962361 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-neighbors-10962361 As many of you know, last month's shutdown of the Federal government was related, in part, to the ... 2/8/2018 Real Estate Matters: FAQ http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/real-estate-matters-faq-10962541 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/real-estate-matters-faq-10962541 The North Georgia Conference has had several questions related to church real estate recently. Here... 2/8/2018 Bishop Sue Meets With Hispanic and Latino/a Pastors http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-meets-with-hispanic-and-latino-a-pastors-10958257 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-meets-with-hispanic-and-latino-a-pastors-10958257 Photo: North Georgia Latino/a clergy pray for Bishop Sue. North Georgia's Latino and Latina clergy ... 2/2/2018 2020 General Conference Delegate Distribution by Annual Conference Now Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/2020-general-conference-delegate-distribution-by-annual-conference-now-available-10957626 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/2020-general-conference-delegate-distribution-by-annual-conference-now-available-10957626   The Secretary of the General Conference has released the delegate distribution for each annual ... 2/1/2018 Warm Welcomes and Hot Cocoa Served in North Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/warm-welcomes-and-hot-cocoa-served-in-north-georgia-10957651 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/warm-welcomes-and-hot-cocoa-served-in-north-georgia-10957651 The numbers are in! In December of 2017, The United Methodist Church went on a road trip to 16 ... 2/1/2018 A Star is Born: FAQs about your Church and the Georgia Film Industry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-star-is-born-faqs-about-your-church-and-the-georgia-film-industry-10884434 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-star-is-born-faqs-about-your-church-and-the-georgia-film-industry-10884434 Photo: On the set of 'Hidden Figures' courtesy of Collins Memorial UMC The booming Georgia film ... 1/25/2018 North Georgia United Methodists Pray for Peace in Korea http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-pray-for-peace-in-korea-10884310 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-pray-for-peace-in-korea-10884310 By Sybil Davidson As the world turns its attention to the Winter Olympics, North Georgia United ... 1/25/2018 United Methodist Churches Can Now Be Listed on Guidestar http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-churches-can-now-be-listed-on-guidestar-10884243 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-churches-can-now-be-listed-on-guidestar-10884243 The Legal Services Department of the General Council on Finance and Administration (GCFA) is ... 1/25/2018 UMC Day of Health to be Held in Atlanta on Saturday, March 17 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-day-of-health-to-be-held-in-atlanta-on-march-17-10872919 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-day-of-health-to-be-held-in-atlanta-on-march-17-10872919 New Event to Help Faith Communities Make Local Impact on Health United Methodists looking to learn ... 1/24/2018 Campus Crawl: A United Methodist College Tour for High School Students Hits the Road http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/campus-crawl-retreat-for-high-school-students-takes-them-on-college-tour-10510756 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/campus-crawl-retreat-for-high-school-students-takes-them-on-college-tour-10510756 Are you a high school student who wants to tour colleges to find the one that is right for you?   ... 1/23/2018 Bishop Announces Appointment of Rogers to Conference Cabinet http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/appointment-rogers-10626788 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/appointment-rogers-10626788 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced the appointment of one new District Superintendent to the ... 1/21/2018
Page 5 of 54 previous 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 54 next