http://www.ngumc.org News RSS News RSS en-us 8/19/2019 2:00:27 AM Global Ministries EarthKeepers Training to be Held in Atlanta in 2018 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/global-ministries-earthkeepers-training-to-be-held-in-atlanta-in-2018-11104146 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/global-ministries-earthkeepers-training-to-be-held-in-atlanta-in-2018-11104146 Global Ministries EarthKeepers Trainings are coming to three US cities in 2018: Atlanta, GA - May ... 3/19/2018 Plans Underway for 2018 Annual Conference http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-underway-for-2018-annual-conference-11013518 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/plans-underway-for-2018-annual-conference-11013518 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson and the Annual Conference Planning Committee are busy preparing for the ... 3/14/2018 Ken Howle Elected Executive Director of Lake Junaluska http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ken-howle-elected-executive-director-of-lake-junaluska-11083478 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/ken-howle-elected-executive-director-of-lake-junaluska-11083478 LAKE JUNALUSKA, N.C. — The Lake Junaluska Board of Trustees has unanimously elected Ken Howle as the... 3/7/2018 Send Me! Where to Help After Completing UMCOR ERT Training http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/send-me-where-to-help-after-umcor-ert-training-11083483 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/send-me-where-to-help-after-umcor-ert-training-11083483 Hundreds of North Georgia United Methodists have gotten certified as UMCOR Emergency Response Team ... 3/7/2018 Commission on a Way Forward Presents Two Draft Sketches to Bishops http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-presents-two-draft-sketches-to-bishops-11047523 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/commission-on-a-way-forward-presents-two-draft-sketches-to-bishops-11047523 The following press release was shared by the Council of Bishops after their February 2018 meeting.... 3/1/2018 North Georgia United Methodists to Depart on Civil Rights Heritage Tour http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-to-depart-on-civil-rights-heritage-tour-11047812 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-to-depart-on-civil-rights-heritage-tour-11047812 Four busloads of North Georgia United Methodists will soon depart on a Civil Rights Heritage Tour. ... 3/1/2018 Tax Reform Eliminates the Moving Expense Deduction http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tax-reform-eliminates-moving-expense-deduction-11047797 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/tax-reform-eliminates-moving-expense-deduction-11047797 Please see the update below from our GCFA Legal Services Department The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (the ... 3/1/2018 Biggest Gift In Glisson's History Paves Way To Preserve and Expand Use Of Chapel For Generations To Come http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biggest-gift-in-glissons-history-paves-way-to-preserve-and-expand-use-of-chapel-for-generations-to-come-11013160 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/biggest-gift-in-glissons-history-paves-way-to-preserve-and-expand-use-of-chapel-for-generations-to-come-11013160 Camp and Retreat ministries shared an exciting announcement this week. Glisson has received the ... 2/28/2018 Faith, Race and Community: A Tale of Two Congregations http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/faith-race-and-community-a-tale-of-two-congregations-11047088 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/faith-race-and-community-a-tale-of-two-congregations-11047088 By Rachel Quartarone   “We must face the fact that in America, the church is still the most ... 2/28/2018 Townley to Teach us to Make Worship a Bridge to Our Community http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/learn-to-make-worship-a-bridge-to-your-community-11047109 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/learn-to-make-worship-a-bridge-to-your-community-11047109 United Methodist worship specialist, coach, and author Cathy Townley will visit North Georgia this ... 2/28/2018 NGUMC Leverages the Atlanta Beltline to Show 'Church' Doesn’t Have to be Within Four Walls http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-doesn-t-have-to-be-within-four-walls-11012350 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/church-doesn-t-have-to-be-within-four-walls-11012350 By Rebecca Wallace Evan McElreath works for the church, but is rarely in one when he is working. ... 2/26/2018 Rome-Carrolton District Event to Feature Ambassador Andrew Young http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rome-carrolton-district-event-features-ambassador-young-11012848 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rome-carrolton-district-event-features-ambassador-young-11012848 The Rome-Carrollton District of The United Methodist Church will host Ambassador Andrew Young as ... 2/26/2018 Clergy Are Invited to 'Take a Break for Mission' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-are-invited-to-take-a-break-for-mission-11009223 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-are-invited-to-take-a-break-for-mission-11009223 The responsibilities and requirements of pastoral ministry in the local church are many and they are... 2/20/2018 More Than Building Homes: Update from Our Partners in Lumberton, NC http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-our-partners-in-lumberton-11009430 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/update-from-our-partners-in-lumberton-11009430 (Photo collage courtesy of Wesley UMC, Augusta)  We checked in with our partners in Lumberton, NC, ... 2/20/2018 United Methodist Academy of Scouting Training Day Set for April 14 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-academy-of-scouting-training-day-set-for-april-14-11008511 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-academy-of-scouting-training-day-set-for-april-14-11008511 United Methodist Academy of Scouting will return to North Georgia April 14. Scout leaders, scout ... 2/19/2018 Message From Bishop Sue: Invitation to Join in Florida Conference Suggestions for Action http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-join-in-florida-conference-suggestions-for-action-11008209 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-join-in-florida-conference-suggestions-for-action-11008209 I invite the churches of the North Georgia Annual Conference to join the Florida Annual Conference ... 2/17/2018 Fresh Expressions Grants Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/freshexpressions-grants-available-11006432 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/freshexpressions-grants-available-11006432 Interested in starting a Fresh Expression? The Office of Congregational Development has matching ... 2/15/2018 Message from Bishop Ken Carter Following Shooting at Florida School http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-ken-carter-on-florida-school-shootings-11005910 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-ken-carter-on-florida-school-shootings-11005910 Bishop Ken Carter of Florida shared the message below with his Annual Conference following a ... 2/15/2018 Clergy and Flu Season: Keeping Well http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-and-flu-season-keeping-well-10963664 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/clergy-and-flu-season-keeping-well-10963664 Flu season or no flu season, North Georgia Conference clergy are in and out of hospitals visiting ... 2/8/2018 Georgia Tech Wesley Foundation Hosts Campus 'Potato Drop' http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-hosts-campus-potato-drop-10962336 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/georgia-tech-wesley-foundation-hosts-campus-potato-drop-10962336 Campus ministry, plus a Connectional Ministries grant, plus a local church partner equals 25,000 ... 2/8/2018 Meet Aldo: A Young Adult DACA Recipient Shares His Story http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-aldo-10962338 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/meet-aldo-10962338 Recently Aldo, a young adult who is a recipient of DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals), ... 2/8/2018 Message from Bishop Sue on Caring for DACA Recepients http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-neighbors-10962361 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/message-from-bishop-sue-neighbors-10962361 As many of you know, last month's shutdown of the Federal government was related, in part, to the ... 2/8/2018 Real Estate Matters: FAQ http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/real-estate-matters-faq-10962541 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/real-estate-matters-faq-10962541 The North Georgia Conference has had several questions related to church real estate recently. Here... 2/8/2018 Bishop Sue Meets With Hispanic and Latino/a Pastors http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-meets-with-hispanic-and-latino-a-pastors-10958257 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/bishop-sue-meets-with-hispanic-and-latino-a-pastors-10958257 Photo: North Georgia Latino/a clergy pray for Bishop Sue. North Georgia's Latino and Latina clergy ... 2/2/2018 2020 General Conference Delegate Distribution by Annual Conference Now Available http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/2020-general-conference-delegate-distribution-by-annual-conference-now-available-10957626 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/2020-general-conference-delegate-distribution-by-annual-conference-now-available-10957626   The Secretary of the General Conference has released the delegate distribution for each annual ... 2/1/2018 Warm Welcomes and Hot Cocoa Served in North Georgia http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/warm-welcomes-and-hot-cocoa-served-in-north-georgia-10957651 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/warm-welcomes-and-hot-cocoa-served-in-north-georgia-10957651 The numbers are in! In December of 2017, The United Methodist Church went on a road trip to 16 ... 2/1/2018 A Star is Born: FAQs about your Church and the Georgia Film Industry http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-star-is-born-faqs-about-your-church-and-the-georgia-film-industry-10884434 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/a-star-is-born-faqs-about-your-church-and-the-georgia-film-industry-10884434 Photo: On the set of 'Hidden Figures' courtesy of Collins Memorial UMC The booming Georgia film ... 1/25/2018 North Georgia United Methodists Pray for Peace in Korea http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-pray-for-peace-in-korea-10884310 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/north-georgia-united-methodists-pray-for-peace-in-korea-10884310 By Sybil Davidson As the world turns its attention to the Winter Olympics, North Georgia United ... 1/25/2018 United Methodist Churches Can Now Be Listed on Guidestar http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-churches-can-now-be-listed-on-guidestar-10884243 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/united-methodist-churches-can-now-be-listed-on-guidestar-10884243 The Legal Services Department of the General Council on Finance and Administration (GCFA) is ... 1/25/2018 UMC Day of Health to be Held in Atlanta on Saturday, March 17 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-day-of-health-to-be-held-in-atlanta-on-march-17-10872919 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/umc-day-of-health-to-be-held-in-atlanta-on-march-17-10872919 New Event to Help Faith Communities Make Local Impact on Health United Methodists looking to learn ... 1/24/2018 Campus Crawl: A United Methodist College Tour for High School Students Hits the Road http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/campus-crawl-retreat-for-high-school-students-takes-them-on-college-tour-10510756 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/campus-crawl-retreat-for-high-school-students-takes-them-on-college-tour-10510756 Are you a high school student who wants to tour colleges to find the one that is right for you?   ... 1/23/2018 Bishop Announces Appointment of Rogers to Conference Cabinet http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/appointment-rogers-10626788 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/appointment-rogers-10626788 Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson has announced the appointment of one new District Superintendent to the ... 1/21/2018 Service of Prayer for Peace in Korea http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/service-of-prayer-for-peace-in-korea-10811701 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/service-of-prayer-for-peace-in-korea-10811701 “He shall judge between the nations, and shall arbitrate for many peoples; they shall beat their ... 1/18/2018 Wesley Woods seeks candidates for the O. Wayne Rollins Director of Pastoral Care http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-woods-seeks-candidates-for-the-o-wayne-rollins-director-of-pastoral-care-10778426 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/wesley-woods-seeks-candidates-for-the-o-wayne-rollins-director-of-pastoral-care-10778426 The announcement below from Wesley Woods follows the exciting news that The O. Wayne Rollins ... 1/18/2018 Mission Information for Your Church as We Start 2018 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/mission-updates-10664391 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/mission-updates-10664391 Rev. Scott Parrish shares the following important mission updates for your church. From preparation ... 1/16/2018 Hartwell First UMC Asks for Prayers, Letters as Railroad Files to Condemn Portion of Church Property http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hartwell-first-umc-asks-for-prayers-letters-as-railroad-files-to-condemn-portion-of-church-property-10548843 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/hartwell-first-umc-asks-for-prayers-letters-as-railroad-files-to-condemn-portion-of-church-property-10548843 Hartwell First UMC in the Athens-Elberton District is asking for prayers as the congregation braces... 1/5/2018 Completing Your Church Year End Reports? Note These Changes http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/completing-your-church-year-end-reports-note-these-changes-10529768 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/completing-your-church-year-end-reports-note-these-changes-10529768 As you complete your church's End of Year report you'll notice new line numbers for this quadrenium ... 1/4/2018 Emory Exhibit Explores Wesley, Methodism's Legacy in America http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/emory-exhibit-explores-wesley-methodisms-legacy-in-america-10529775 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/emory-exhibit-explores-wesley-methodisms-legacy-in-america-10529775 A new exhibit at Emory University’s Pitts Theology Library at Candler School of Theology focuses on ... 1/4/2018 Save the Date: Slate of ERT Trainings Scheduled This Season http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-ert-trainings-10530318 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/save-the-date-ert-trainings-10530318 As our neighbors near and far recover from a particularly destructive hurricane season, we in North ... 1/4/2018 Levan Takes New Position in Office of Ministerial Services http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/levan-takes-new-position-in-office-of-ministerial-services-10508444 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/levan-takes-new-position-in-office-of-ministerial-services-10508444 The North Georgia Conference is pleased to announce the promotion of D. Michelle Levan to the ... 1/2/2018 Retired Clergy Invited to Spring Day Apart with Bishop Sue http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/retiree-spring-10506827 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/retiree-spring-10506827 North Georgia Conference retired clergy are invited to a Spring Day Apart with Bishop Sue ... 1/2/2018 Welcoming All: Deaf-Friendly Worship Services http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-all-deaf-friendly-worship-services-10357010 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/welcoming-all-deaf-friendly-worship-services-10357010 The following are recommendations from the United Methodist Committee on Deaf and Hard of Hearing ... 12/18/2017 Living United: Registration Open for Conference Young Adult Retreat http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/living-united-registration-open-conference-young-adult-retreat-10306279 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/living-united-registration-open-conference-young-adult-retreat-10306279 Our world needs followers of Jesus who know how to have difficult conversations with love. Our ... 12/14/2017 Reinhardt Football Team to Play in National Championship Saturday http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/reinhardt-football-team-to-play-in-national-championship-saturday-10306234 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/reinhardt-football-team-to-play-in-national-championship-saturday-10306234 When Reinhardt University embarked on the creation of a football program, leaders hoped for a ... 12/14/2017 Growing Churches: Three Trends We Spotted in 2017 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/growing-churches-looking-back-at-a-series-10288576 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/growing-churches-looking-back-at-a-series-10288576 In early 2017, the North Georgia Conference communications office asked District Superintendents to ... 12/13/2017 Christmas Cheer: Retirees Gather for Annual Luncheon http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/christmas-retirees-gather-for-annual-luncheon-10266629 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/christmas-retirees-gather-for-annual-luncheon-10266629 More than 100 North Georgia retired pastors and spouses gathered on Dec. 11 at Oak Grove UMC for ... 12/12/2017 Rollins Foundation Awards Foundation of Wesley Woods $3.3 Million to Endow New Pastoral Care Program http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rollins-foundation-awards-foundation-of-wesley-woods-3-3-million-to-endow-new-pastoral-care-program-10266492 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/rollins-foundation-awards-foundation-of-wesley-woods-3-3-million-to-endow-new-pastoral-care-program-10266492 New Program to Provide Critical Spiritual Care for 1,800 Senior Adults  Living at All 10 Wesley ... 12/12/2017 3 Steps to Telling Better Stories at Your Church http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/3-steps-to-telling-better-stories-at-your-church-10208209 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/3-steps-to-telling-better-stories-at-your-church-10208209 Editors Note: The North Georgia Conference invited writer and former local church communications ... 12/7/2017 Delegate Counts for 2020 General Conference Announced http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/delegate-counts-for-2020-general-conference-announced-10208273 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/delegate-counts-for-2020-general-conference-announced-10208273 The Secretary of the General Conference has announced the number of delegates assigned to each ... 12/7/2017 Donor Makes $1 Million Gift to LaGrange College http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/donor-makes-1-million-gift-to-lagrange-college-10208317 http://www.ngumc.org/newsdetail/donor-makes-1-million-gift-to-lagrange-college-10208317 Photo:  Jerry Wilkinson of Atlanta and his family unveil a sign proclaiming the new name of LaGrange... 12/7/2017
Page 5 of 54 previous 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 54 next